Compare DoorKeeping
How DoorKeeping stacks up against other property management software for landlords. Every price below comes from the company's own website, with the date we read it.
One year of software and tenant fees, plans with every feature
Each company's plan with the most features, billed yearly where offered, plus its published fee for a tenant paying rent by bank 12 times a year per unit. A + means some fees are not published, so the real cost is higher. Quote only means the company publishes no price. Details and cheapest plans are in the tables below.
What one year costs, owner and tenants together
| Software (plan used) | 10 units | 40 units | 100 units |
|---|---|---|---|
| DoorKeepingOne plan, every feature | $240No other fees | $960No other fees | $2,400No other fees |
| AppFolioMax (most features) | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Core (cheapest, fewer features) | $894+$894 software, tenant bank fees not published3.7x DoorKeeping | $894+$894 software, tenant bank fees not published | $1,788+$1,788 software, tenant bank fees not published |
| BuildiumPremium (most features) | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Essential (cheapest, fewer features) | $1,062$780 software + $282 tenant bank fees4.4x DoorKeeping | Not published | Not published |
| Rent ManagerPremium (most features) | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Basic (cheapest, fewer features) | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Yardi BreezeBreeze Premier (most features) | $4,800No bank fees20.0x DoorKeeping | $4,800No bank fees5.0x DoorKeeping | $4,800No bank fees2.0x DoorKeeping |
| Breeze (cheapest, fewer features) | $1,200No bank fees5.0x DoorKeeping | $1,200No bank fees1.3x DoorKeeping | $1,200No bank feesLess than DoorKeeping |
| DoorLoopDoorLoop Multiply (most features) | $4,788No bank fees19.9x DoorKeeping | $4,788No bank fees5.0x DoorKeeping | $6,000No bank fees2.5x DoorKeeping |
| DoorLoop One (cheapest, fewer features) | $2,568$2,388 software + $180 tenant bank fees10.7x DoorKeeping | $3,108$2,388 software + $720 tenant bank fees3.2x DoorKeeping | $4,800$3,000 software + $1,800 tenant bank fees2.0x DoorKeeping |
| TurboTenantPro (its only plan with these features) | $199No bank feesLess than DoorKeeping | $699No bank feesLess than DoorKeeping | $999No bank feesLess than DoorKeeping |
| BaselaneSmart (its only plan with these features) | $480$240 software + $240 tenant bank fees2.0x DoorKeeping | $1,200$240 software + $960 tenant bank fees1.3x DoorKeeping | $2,640$240 software + $2,400 tenant bank fees1.1x DoorKeeping |
| RentRediAnnual plan plus REI Hub (its only plan with these features) | $732$612 software + $120 tenant bank fees3.0x DoorKeeping | $1,812$1,332 software + $480 tenant bank fees1.9x DoorKeeping | $2,532$1,332 software + $1,200 tenant bank fees1.1x DoorKeeping |
| StessaPro (its only plan with these features) | $576$336 software + $240 tenant bank fees2.4x DoorKeeping | $1,296$336 software + $960 tenant bank fees1.4x DoorKeeping | $2,736$336 software + $2,400 tenant bank fees1.1x DoorKeeping |
| TenantCloudPro (its only plan with these features) | $780$600 software + $180 tenant bank fees3.3x DoorKeeping | $1,320$600 software + $720 tenant bank fees1.4x DoorKeeping | Not published |
| InnagoFree (its only plan with these features) | $240$0 software + $240 tenant bank feesSame as DoorKeeping | $960$0 software + $960 tenant bank feesSame as DoorKeeping | $2,400$0 software + $2,400 tenant bank feesSame as DoorKeeping |
Example math, not a quote: each company's plan with the most features first (DoorKeeping has one plan with every feature), then its cheapest published plan with online rent collection and accounting, billed yearly where offered, plus the published fee for a tenant paying rent by bank (ACH) 12 times a year per unit. Card payments, screening and add-ons would add more. A + means some fees are not published. Prices read from each company's own site on the dates in Sources.
Every feature, side by side
✓ Included✓ Higher plan only+ Costs extra✕ Not offered? Not stated on its site
| Feature | DoorKeeping | AppFolio | Buildium | Rent Manager | Yardi Breeze | DoorLoop | TurboTenant | Baselane | RentRedi | Stessa | TenantCloud | Innago |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| One year, 40 units | $960 | $894+ | Quote only | Quote only | $1,200 | $3,108 | $699 | $1,200 | $1,812 | $1,296 | $1,320 | $960 |
| Included on the plan in the cost table | 32 of 32 | 25 of 32 | 20 of 32 | 24 of 32 | 22 of 32 | 29 of 32 | 22 of 32 | 16 of 32 | 21 of 32 | 22 of 32 | 22 of 32 | 20 of 32 |
| Accounting | ||||||||||||
| Full accounting (ledger, P&L, balance sheet) | IncludedSeparate books for each property, rolled up | IncludedProperty accounting and reports on Core | IncludedAll basic accounting features on Essential | IncludedComplete accounting system on Basic (general ledger, P&L, balance sheet) | IncludedPayables, receivables, general ledger and financial statements | IncludedFull accounting: chart of accounts, balance sheet, P&L, cash flow | IncludedFull accounting suite on Pro only (P&L, balance sheet, cash flow) | IncludedBookkeeping and reports on Core; balance sheet on Smart only | Add-onBuilt-in P&L and Schedule E; balance sheet needs REI Hub, $25 to $99 a month | IncludedGeneral ledger and P&L free; balance sheet on Pro only | IncludedFull accounting on Pro and Business; basic income and expenses on all | Not statedIncome, expenses and P&L; no balance sheet stated |
| Bank feeds and reconciliation | IncludedConnect your bank; deposits matched to rent | IncludedAuto bank reconciliation, bank linked through Plaid | IncludedAutomatic bank reconciliation from a linked bank feed | IncludedElectronic bank rec on Basic; Bank Sync is in the Plus AI AR/AP suite | Higher planBank transaction feed on Breeze Premier only | IncludedLive bank sync for faster reconciliation | IncludedAutomatic bank import and reconciliation on Pro; manual import on Essentials | IncludedSyncs outside bank accounts and cards; no reconciliation tool named | Not stated | IncludedUnlimited bank data feeds on all plans; no reconciliation named | IncludedBank feeds with reconciliation on Pro and Business | Not stated |
| Owner statements | IncludedBuilt from the books | IncludedStatements and reports published to the owner portal | IncludedOwner statements scheduled monthly, shared in the owner portal | IncludedOwner reports and Owner Web Access portal | IncludedOwner statements and report packets by email or portal | IncludedDetailed and summary owner statements in the owner portal | NoNo owner reports or owner portal | Not stated | Add-onOwner Statement report in the REI Hub add-on | Not stated | IncludedOwner statement report; separate owner portal on Pro and Business | Not stated |
| Tax reports such as Schedule E | IncludedSchedule E from the books | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | NoNo Schedule E report; help center points to P&L by property | IncludedSchedule E and Form 8825 on Pro only | IncludedAccountant tax package with Schedule E on all plans | IncludedSchedule E reports in built-in accounting | IncludedSchedule E on Manage and Pro; not on free Essentials | IncludedTax reports on Pro and Business | Not stated |
| 1099 forms for vendors | Included1099-NEC report from the books | IncludedPrepares owner and vendor 1099s (including 1099-NEC); e-filing not stated | Add-onE-file via Nelco, $50 a batch plus $4.50 a form | IncludedPrepares 1099s and e-files through the IRS FIRE system | IncludedPrepare and e-file 1099s | IncludedCreates 1099-NEC and 1099-MISC; e-file through Avalara, fee not published | NoTracks vendor totals; does not create or file 1099s | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not statedPrepares 1099-NEC PDFs, no e-file; plan not stated | Not stated |
| Budgets and budget vs actual | IncludedBudgets and budget vs actual | Higher planAdvanced budgeting on Plus; AI budgeting on Max | Not statedNot confirmed on the pages we could open | IncludedBudgets with warnings when spending nears the budget | IncludedTrack budgets and spot problem areas | IncludedBudgets by property tracked on dashboards | NoNo budgeting or pro forma statements | Not stated | Not stated | IncludedBudgeting and pro forma on Pro only | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bills read and coded automatically | IncludedAI reads invoices and codes each line | Higher planAccounting Performer bill entry on Plus and Max only | Higher planAI Bill Scan; all Lumina AI features are on Premium | Higher planSmart Bills in the AI AR/AP suite, Plus and Premium | Higher planPremier only: outsourced invoice scanning and data entry | IncludedAI Assistant processes invoices on One | Not stated | IncludedAI auto-tagging and receipt matching on Smart only | IncludedAI reads receipt photos and sorts expenses | IncludedSmart receipt scanning, 5 a month (unlimited on Pro) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Pay vendors from the software | IncludedPay vendors from your own bank after your tap | IncludedPay owners and vendors by eCheck | IncludedOutgoing EFT to vendors, $0.99 a payment | IncludedAvidPay vendor payments at no cost | IncludedYardi Bill Pay by ACH or check, $1.00 a payment | IncludedPay vendors and owners from DoorLoop, free | NoFinances does not move money or pay bills | IncludedScheduled vendor payments; ACH free, mailed check $2 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| QuickBooks connection | IncludedSync with QuickBooks Online | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | IncludedQuickBooks Online sync of income and expenses | NoNot directly integrated with QuickBooks | IncludedQuickBooks and Xero sync on all plans | IncludedOne-way file export to QuickBooks; no live sync | Not stated | IncludedOne-way QuickBooks Online sync (US); integrations on Pro | IncludedRecords payments, invoices and expenses in QuickBooks Online |
| Rent | ||||||||||||
| Online rent collection | IncludedFree, straight to your own bank | IncludedeCheck, card and Apple Pay; tenant pays an unpublished fee | IncludedACH $2.35 a payment on Essential; cards 2.99% | IncludedCard and eCheck payments; fees not published | IncludedACH, debit and credit card through RentCafe | IncludedCard or ACH; incoming ACH $1.50 a payment on One | IncludedAll plans; tenant pays about $2 per ACH payment unless Pro | IncludedACH $2, landlord or tenant pays; free into Baselane checking | IncludedACH $1 a payment, tenant pays by default | IncludedAll plans; tenant pays up to $2 per ACH payment | IncludedTenant pays ACH $1.95 on Starter, $1.50 on Pro | IncludedFree for landlords; tenant pays $2 per ACH by default |
| Tenant autopay | IncludedTenants authorize it once; rent comes from their bank on the due date, free | IncludedResidents set up autopay in the portal | IncludedResidents schedule repeat payments in the Resident Center | IncludedResidents set up autopay in the resident app | IncludedResidents set up autopay in the RentCafe app | IncludedTenants set up autopay in the portal | IncludedTenants turn on autopay in the renter portal | IncludedTenant portal with autopay on all plans | IncludedTenants set up autopay in the app | IncludedTenant autopay on all plans | IncludedTenant autopay on recurring charges, up to $10,000 | IncludedTenants schedule automatic payments in the portal |
| Automatic late fees | IncludedPosted automatically within state caps | IncludedFees assessed on time per the lease | IncludedAutomated late fee assessments | IncludedTask Automation posts recurring charges and late fees | IncludedLate fee setup per tenant, copied in bulk | IncludedLate fees applied automatically | IncludedAutomatic late fees on recurring rent charges | IncludedAutomatic rent invoices, reminders and late fees | IncludedLate fees calculate and apply themselves | IncludedAutomated reminders and late fees on all plans | IncludedOne-time or daily late fees added after the grace period | IncludedApplies late fees and notifies the tenant automatically |
| Tenant portal | IncludedInvite link, nothing to install | IncludedFolioSpace web portal and iOS and Android app | IncludedResident Center portal and app | IncludedTenant portal and tenant app on Basic | IncludedRentCafe resident portal and app | IncludedTenant portal for payments, requests and messages | IncludedRenter portal and free renter app | IncludedTenant portal for one-time and recurring payments | IncludedTenant app for payments, maintenance and chat | IncludedResident portal for rent and maintenance | IncludedTenant portal and separate tenant app | IncludedTenant portal and mobile app |
| Leasing | ||||||||||||
| Listing page for every vacancy | IncludedA public page per vacant unit, with Apply and Schedule a showing | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Listings on Zillow and more | IncludedList on Zillow and more | IncludedSyndicates to Zillow, Apartments.com and Zumper | IncludedZillow, Apartments.com, Zumper and other sites | IncludedPushes units to listing sites, Zillow integration listed | IncludedListing sites including RentCafe.com; Zillow not named | IncludedZillow, Dwellsy, Trulia, HotPads and more | IncludedAbout 26 sites such as Apartments.com and Realtor.com; not Zillow directly | Not stated | IncludedPosts to Zillow, Realtor.com, Trulia and HotPads | IncludedVacancy ads and syndication to Zillow on all plans | IncludedFree to Realtor.com, Apartments.com; Zillow free under 25 units, else $30 | IncludedFree syndication to Zumper, PadMapper and more; Zillow not named |
| Online rental applications | IncludedOnline applications by link | IncludedOnline rental applications | IncludedOnline applications with fee payment | IncludedOnline applications on Basic | IncludedOnline applications | IncludedApplication link per property, optional application fee | IncludedOnline applications on all plans, including Free | Not stated | IncludedOnline applications with screening | IncludedTenant applications on all plans | IncludedListings and applications on all plans | IncludedApplications from listings |
| Tenant screening | IncludedOur exact cost, no markup | IncludedFolioScreen with fraud checks; price not published | IncludedTransUnion; $17 a report, or $35 paid by applicant | IncludedCheckPoint Screening; price not published, applicant can pay | Add-onScreeningWorks Pro, $18 a screen | IncludedCredit, criminal and eviction reports, $35 a screening | IncludedVia TransUnion; applicant pays $45 on Essentials, $55 on Free | IncludedFrom $24.99, paid by the applicant | IncludedTransUnion; applicant pays $39.99, or $49.99 with income check | IncludedBuilt-in RentPrep checks on all plans | IncludedTransUnion; paid by the applicant unless you cover it | Included$30 to $35, paid by the applicant by default |
| E-signed leases | IncludedBuilt in, no per-document fee | IncludedOnline leases e-signed on any device | Add-on$5 a document on Essential, $1 on Growth, unlimited on Premium | IncludedUnlimited eSignatures on Basic | Higher planE-signed state leases on Premier; renewals signable in resident app | IncludedUnlimited eSignatures and lease templates | IncludedEssentials and Pro; not on Free | Not stated | IncludedE-sign leases in the app | IncludedDocuSign, 1 a month on Manage, 7 on Pro; none free | Not statedE-signature offered; plans not stated | IncludedBuilt-in e-signature for leases, no fee |
| Lease renewals | IncludedRenewal offers drafted for your approval | IncludedRenewal automation with a default offer | IncludedRenewal offers sent and tracked | IncludedTenants sign renewal leases online | IncludedRenewals built in; residents sign them in the app | IncludedRenewal wizard on One; Lease Renewal Agent on Multiply | IncludedCopy the old lease into a new term; Essentials or Pro | Not stated | IncludedExtend the lease date or add a new lease term | IncludedRenew lease action on each lease | Not stated | Not stated |
| Maintenance | ||||||||||||
| Maintenance requests and work orders | IncludedRequests become work orders | IncludedOnline requests and work orders | IncludedTask and work order management | IncludedWork order management on Basic | IncludedOnline maintenance requests and work orders | IncludedMaintenance requests and work orders | IncludedMaintenance requests on all plans | Not stated | IncludedTenants submit requests in the app; you track each ticket | IncludedMaintenance requests on all plans; tenants submit in portal | IncludedMaintenance management on all plans | IncludedMaintenance requests and work orders with cost tracking |
| Vendor dispatch | IncludedSend jobs to your vendors by link, no account | IncludedVendor portal for jobs, invoices and payments | IncludedAssign work orders to staff or vendors | Not statedVendor management on Basic; no vendor portal named | IncludedAssign tasks to vendors; no vendor portal named | IncludedVendor management and vendor portal | Add-onVendor coordination only through Autopilot managed service, price on call | Add-onBook contractors through partner Latchel; price not published | Add-onLatchel or Lessen coordination; fees not published | Not stated | IncludedService pros find and take work orders | IncludedForward requests to vendors; Latchel finds pros |
| Move-in and move-out inspections | IncludedMove-in and move-out checklists by link | IncludedInspections and unit turns on Core | Add-onHappyCo: $99 setup plus $40 to $95 a month on Essential | Higher planInspections in the rmAppSuite Pro app (Plus); video inspections on Premium | IncludedInspections with photos on Breeze and Premier | IncludedAI move-in and move-out inspections in the AI Assistant | IncludedMove-in and move-out condition reports on all plans | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | IncludedGrowth and up: 15 a year on Growth, 50 on Pro | IncludedMove-in and move-out checklists tenants sign |
| AI and communication | ||||||||||||
| Messages to tenants (email or text) | IncludedEmail to tenants and vendors | IncludedIndividual or mass texts and email to residents | IncludedBasic communications on Essential; two-way SMS listed, plan not shown | IncludedEmail and texting; text broadcast on Plus; texting needs a paid number | IncludedText and email with prospects and residents | IncludedCalls, texts, portal and email in one inbox; text credits by plan | IncludedIn-app and group messages; text and email alerts for new messages | Not stated | IncludedIn-app chat; notices by push and email | Not stated | IncludedMessages with tenants; lead texts capped by plan | IncludedIn-app messages with tenants |
| AI assistant | IncludedAsk in plain words; money steps wait for your tap | IncludedRealm-X Assistant and Messages on Core | IncludedHelp assistant on Essential; full Lumina AI on Premium | IncludedAI help and call summaries on Basic; more AI on Plus and Premium | Add-onChat IQ AI is a Premier add-on (price not published) | IncludedAI Assistant on One; AI agents on Connect and Multiply | IncludedMaintenance AI helps tenants triage repairs, no extra charge | IncludedAI assistant tags transactions, Smart only | Not stated | Not stated | IncludedCloudia writes listing text, Pro and Business only | Not stated |
| Works inside Claude and ChatGPT | IncludedConnects to the Claude or ChatGPT you already use | IncludedClaude connector: read only on Core, read and write on Plus and Max | Not stated | Higher planMCP Connector on the Premium bundle only | Not stated | Not statedNo connector named; site says Claude can connect via its open API | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ready-made automations | IncludedOne-toggle automations | Higher planRealm-X Flows on Plus and Max only | Higher planReporting automation from Growth; full automations suite on Premium | IncludedCustom workflows on Basic | IncludedRecurring postings and workflows; move-in and move-out workflows on Premier | IncludedWorkflows that automate repetitive tasks | IncludedAutomatic late fees; transaction rules on Pro | IncludedAutomatic rent reminders and late fees; auto-transfer rules on Smart | IncludedRent, autopay, late fees and reminders run automatically | IncludedAutomated rent reminders and late fees | IncludedRecurring charges and automatic late fees | IncludedAutomatic late fees and rent reminders |
| Team, security and support | ||||||||||||
| Team members and roles | IncludedRoles for your team | Not statedCustom user roles offered; plan not stated | Not statedCustom user roles listed; plan not shown | IncludedUser roles, privileges and supervisors | IncludedLimit access by staff or property; full roles on Premier | IncludedUnlimited users with access roles | IncludedUser roles and permissions on Pro only | IncludedShared access for team members on Smart only | IncludedUnlimited teammates with access set by the owner | IncludedCollaborators as Manager, Editor or Read Only | Higher planRoles and permissions on Business only | IncludedTeam members, co-owners or managers with access controls |
| Two-factor sign-in | IncludedAuthenticator app and recovery codes | IncludedTwo-factor sign-in offered | Not statedNot confirmed on the pages we could open | IncludedMultifactor authentication at sign-in | Not stated | IncludedTwo-factor sign-in and Google SSO | IncludedText message codes; authenticator apps not supported | Not stated | Included2-factor authentication offered | IncludedAuthenticator app codes | IncludedAuthenticator app codes | IncludedAdaptive multi-factor sign-in through Auth0 |
| Mobile app | IncludediPhone and Android app | IncludedMobile app for teams and technicians | IncludedBuildium mobile app for Android and iPhone | Higher planrmAppSuite Pro manager app on Plus and Premium | IncludedYardi Breeze app for maintenance and labor tracking | IncludediOS and Android apps | IncludedFree landlord app on iOS and Android | IncludedBaselane mobile app on all plans | IncludedRentRedi app for owners on iOS and Android | IncludediOS and Android app | IncludedSeparate landlord and tenant apps, iOS and Android | IncludediOS and Android app |
| Document storage | IncludedStore and share by expiring link | IncludedDocuments shared through owner and resident portals | IncludedUpload leases, receipts and statements to the owner portal | IncludedDocuments shared with owners and residents in their portals | IncludedAttach documents and invoices to records | IncludedUnlimited document storage | IncludedDocuments tab per property, files under 20MB | Not stated | IncludedUnit and tenant document storage | IncludedUnlimited document and receipt storage on all plans | IncludedStorage 1 GB on Starter, 10 GB on Growth, 25 GB on Pro | IncludedSigned leases stored in the account |
| Support | IncludedEmail support@doorkeeping.com | IncludedStandard support on Core: chat and knowledge base; hours not published | IncludedEmail tickets on Essential; live phone (Mon to Fri, 9am to 8pm ET) on Growth and Premium | IncludedPhone and email, Mon to Fri 8am to 7pm ET; after-hours emergencies | IncludedLive chat Mon to Fri 7am to 7pm CT; 8 free setup phone hours, then billable | IncludedChat, email, phone and Zoom; Mon to Fri 9am to 6pm ET | IncludedAI chat 24/7; chat and email daily 8 to 4 MT; phone on paid plans | IncludedMulti-channel support; priority support on Smart | Included24/7 live chat; weekday phone support 9 to 5 Eastern | IncludedBasic support free; priority chat on Manage; phone on Pro | IncludedHelp center, email and in-app chat; faster on higher plans | IncludedPhone, email and live chat, weekdays 9 to 5 Eastern |
| Onboarding and data import | IncludedFree and self-serve; import your rent roll | IncludedOnboarding manager and data migration specialist; cost not published | IncludedData import and training; required on Growth and Premium, fee not published | IncludedImplementation consultants and data migration; fee not published | IncludedNo onboarding, training or data conversion fees | IncludedFree data migration, onboarding and training | NoNo data import from other software; you add everything by hand | Not stated | IncludedAI-guided setup; no general data import stated | IncludedSelf-serve import of CSV, QIF, QFX and OFX files | Higher planData migration help for larger portfolios or Business | IncludedOne-on-one onboarding demo on request; no import stated |
Read from each company's own feature, pricing and help pages on the dates in Sources. "Included" means on the plan used in the cost table above.
Published prices at a glance
| Software | Published price | Minimum | Setup or onboarding |
|---|---|---|---|
| DoorKeeping | $2 per unit per month, every feature included | None | None |
| AppFolio | From $1.49 per unit per month (Core); Plus from $3.20, Max from $5.00 | 50 units on Core, plus a minimum spend (amount not published) | Not stated on pricing page |
| Buildium | Essential from $65 a month; Growth from $202; Premium from $420 | None stated | Essential: $99 per business bank account; onboarding required on Growth and Premium (fee not stated) |
| Rent Manager | Not published; quote on request | Not published | Not stated on pricing page |
| Yardi Breeze | Residential: $1 per unit per month (Breeze), annual agreement | $100 a month (Breeze); $400 a month (Breeze Premier) | No onboarding fees (residential) |
| DoorLoop | One: $2.50 per unit per month billed yearly ($3.00 monthly), $1.50 per unit above 100 | $199 a month billed yearly ($239 monthly) on One | Not stated on pricing page |
| TurboTenant | Free plan; Essentials $149 a year and Pro $199 a year for 1 to 10 units, more for larger tiers | None stated | Not stated on pricing page |
| Baselane | Core free; Smart $20 a month billed annually | None stated | Not stated on pricing page |
| RentRedi | $12 a month billed annually, $20 billed every 6 months or $29.95 billed monthly; one flat price, unlimited units | None stated | Not stated on pricing page |
| Stessa | Essentials free; Manage $12 a month and Pro $28 a month billed annually ($15 and $35 billed monthly) | None stated | Not stated on pricing page |
| TenantCloud | Starter $15, Growth $29.17, Pro $50 a month billed annually; Business from $100 a month; plans cap leases at 10, 30 and 60 | None stated | Not stated on pricing page |
| Innago | Free for landlords; tenants pay $2 per ACH payment and 2.99% per card payment by default | None stated | No setup fee (stated on pricing page) |
| Avail | Free for unlimited units; Unlimited Plus is $9 per unit per month | None stated | Not stated on pricing page |
| Hemlane | Free Starter plan; Basic is $2 per unit plus a $28 monthly platform fee ($30 a month at one unit) | $28 monthly platform fee on paid plans | Not stated on pricing page |
| Rentec Direct | Starter $25 a month flat (up to 10 properties); Pro $2 per unit; PM $2.50 per unit | $50 a month on Pro and PM; no long-term contract | Free, including onboarding |
| Landlord Studio | Go free for 3 units; Pro $144 a year ($15 monthly); Pro Plus $336 a year ($35 monthly); extra units $1.00 a month on yearly billing, $1.20 on monthly | None stated | No setup costs for online rent collection |
| Zillow Rental Manager | Screening reports free for landlords; renter pays a $40 application fee; other prices not published here | Not published | Not published |
Prices change. Each one is what the company's own pricing page said on the date in Sources below. Where a company does not publish a price, we say so instead of guessing. Every other fee, including what tenants pay, is in the full fee table below.
Every fee, owner and tenant side
| Software | Software price | Minimum or contract | Setup or onboarding | Rent paid by bank (ACH) | Rent paid by card | Tenant screening | E-signatures | Payouts to owners or vendors | Other published fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DoorKeeping | $2 per unit per month, every feature included (paid by the owner) | None. No minimum and no contract | None | Free. Tenants pay your own bank directly | 3% card fee, credit cards only; bank transfer stays free (paid by the tenant) | No markup: our exact cost. Paid by the applicant by default, or by you if you choose | Included, no per-document fee | None. DoorKeeping never holds your money and sends a payment only when you approve it | None |
| AppFolio | Core from $1.49, Plus from $3.20, Max from $5.00 per unit per month (paid by the owner) | Core: 50-unit minimum plus a minimum spend; Plus and Max: minimum spend and units apply (amounts not published) (paid by the owner) | Not published | Amount not published; AppFolio charges a transaction fee on online payments, shown to the tenant before paying and listed separately as APPFOLIO_TXNFEE (paid by the tenant) | Amount not published; AppFolio charges a transaction fee on card payments, shown to the tenant before paying, and it rises with the payment amount (paid by the tenant) | Not published | Not published | Not published | Cash payments at retail stores: $4.99 per payment (up to $2,000, $1,500 at 7-Eleven), paid by the tenant; owners paying contributions online also pay a transaction fee shown before paying; value-added services and add-ons such as Leasing Signals are unpriced |
| Buildium | Essential from $65, Growth from $202, Premium from $420 a month (paid by the owner) | None stated | Onboarding service required on Growth and Premium (fee not published); $99 per business bank account on Essential, 10 free on Growth and 100 free on Premium, then $99 each (paid by the owner) | Incoming EFT $2.35 per payment (Essential), $1.35 (Growth), free for 12 months then $0.60 (Premium); landlord can pass it to the tenant per payment (owner or tenant pays) | 2.99% of the payment on every plan; landlord can pass it to the tenant per payment (owner or tenant pays) | $17 per screening ($20 enhanced on Growth and Premium); or $35 paid by the applicant | $5 per document (Essential), $1 per document (Growth), unlimited included (Premium) (paid by the owner) | Outgoing EFT $0.99 per payment; check printing $30 setup plus $1.50 per check (paid by the owner) | 1099 e-filing $50 per batch plus $4.50 per form; property inspections $99 setup then $40 to $95 a month (Essential); Showings Coordinator from $41 a month ($25 setup on Essential); renters insurance from $12 a month (tenant, optional); Priority Support paid on Growth; retail cash payments and other add-ons unpriced (owner or tenant pays) |
| Rent Manager | Not published; Basic, Plus and Premium bundles priced by quote (paid by the owner) | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Amount not published; CheckPoint Screening sells packages or single reports and can collect the fee from the applicant (owner or tenant pays) | No fee published; Basic bundle lists Online Applications and Unlimited eSignatures | No fee published; payments page names its vendor payments "No Cost AvidPay" | Texting requires registration and a purchased phone number; call summaries need a phone service subscription; add-on services are sold separately; no prices published (paid by the owner) |
| Yardi Breeze | Residential: $1 per unit per month on Breeze and on Breeze Premier (paid by the owner) | $100 a month (Breeze) or $400 a month (Breeze Premier), one-year agreement that renews automatically (paid by the owner) | Free: no onboarding, training or support fees | $0.00 when Yardi is the primary processor and card payments are turned on; otherwise $0.95 per payment (paid by the owner) | Credit cards 2.95%; signature debit $3.95 (under $1,000), $4.95 ($1,000 to $1,999), $9.95 ($2,000 and up); tenant pays by default, landlord can choose to cover | ScreeningWorks $18 per screen (Premium) or $25 (Premium Plus); $9 more for a supplemental criminal search in 12 states (paid by the owner) | Not published | Yardi Bill Pay $1.00 per payment (ACH or check); Bill Pay Express $0.40 per payment (paid by the owner) | Chargebacks and retrievals $25 each; Check21 adjustments $45 each; phone support beyond 8 free hours $120 an hour; add-ons such as RentCafe websites and the chatbot unpriced (paid by the owner) |
| DoorLoop | Billed yearly: One $2.50 ($1.50 per unit above 100), Connect $4.00, Multiply $5.00 per unit per month; billed monthly: $3.00 ($1.80 above 100), $4.80, $6.00 (paid by the owner) | Billed yearly: $199, $299 or $399 a month; billed monthly: $239, $359 or $479 a month; cancel any time (paid by the owner) | Free: data migration, training and support included | $1.50 per payment on One; free on Connect and Multiply; landlord can add a convenience fee to tenant ACH payments (owner or tenant pays) | Not published | $35 per screening on every plan | No fee published; every plan lists unlimited eSignatures and templates | Free on every plan | AI add-on on Connect and Multiply (price not published); texts and announcements draw on a credit pool per plan; renters insurance offered in the tenant portal (price not published) (paid by the owner) |
| TurboTenant | Free $0; Essentials $149 to $349 a year and Pro $199 to $999 a year, set by unit band (1 to 10, 11 to 30, 31 to 60, 61+) (paid by the owner) | None; paid plans billed yearly, Free plan has no contract (paid by the owner) | Not published | $2 per payment for renters of Free-plan landlords; free for renters of Pro landlords (paid by the tenant) | 3.49% of the payment (paid by the tenant) | $55 per applicant on the Free plan; $45 for renters of Pro landlords (paid by the applicant) | No fee published; pricing page lists Unlimited E-Signatures | Not published | Accounting add-on $15 a month for the first unit and $5 for each additional, up to $85 a month (included in Pro); Landlord Forms Pack $199 on Free (included on paid plans); renter rent reporting $4.99 a month (opt-in); renters insurance from $11 a month (optional); standalone tenant placement $1,500 flat (owner or tenant pays) |
| Baselane | Core $0; Smart $20 a month on an annual plan (paid by the owner) | None; no minimum balance on its bank accounts | Free ($0 account opening) | $2 per payment (pricing page lists $2 to $5); landlord can cover it or pass it on; waived when rent deposits into Baselane checking (owner or tenant pays) | 3.49% of the payment (debit or credit) (paid by the tenant) | From $24.99 (paid by the applicant) | Not published | ACH transfer free; same-day ACH 1% (max $15); wire $15 (waived at $50,000+ balance); mailed check $2; checkbook $15 (paid by the owner) | Tenant split rent payments from $30 a month; tenant rent reporting $5 a month; no fee for returned payments, inactive accounts or ATM use (paid by the tenant) |
| RentRedi | $12 a month billed yearly, $20 a month billed every 6 months, or $29.95 billed monthly; unlimited units (paid by the owner) | None; no contract, cancel anytime | Not published | $1.00 per payment; tenant pays by default, landlord can choose to cover | 3.1% + $0.30 per payment (debit cards charged the card rate); tenant pays by default, landlord can choose to cover | $39.99 (credit, criminal, eviction); $49.99 with income verification (paid by the applicant) | No fee published; leases are e-signed in the app | Not published | Credit reporting $5.99 a month, paid by landlord or tenant |
| Stessa | Essentials free; Manage $12 a month yearly or $15 monthly; Pro $28 a month yearly or $35 monthly; unlimited properties (paid by the owner) | None | Not published | Free in some cases, up to $2 per payment (paid by the tenant) | 3% of the payment (credit or debit) (paid by the tenant) | $29 credit report or background check; $49 complete package; income verification add-on $10, income and employment $15; landlord or tenant pay options (owner or tenant pays) | None on Essentials; Manage includes 1 a month and Pro 7 a month; no per-signature price published (paid by the owner) | Not published | State-specific lease templates $15 each on Essentials (included on Manage and Pro) (paid by the owner) |
| TenantCloud | Starter $15, Growth $29.17, Pro $50 a month billed yearly ($18, $35, $60 billed monthly); Business from $100 a month (paid by the owner) | No minimum spend; plans cap leases at 10, 30 and 60 | Not published | $1.95 per payment on Starter, $1.75 on Growth, $1.50 on Pro; waived for tenants in $4.95 a month rent reporting (paid by the tenant) | Amount not published; payer covers card fees by default, landlord can pay them via support (owner or tenant pays) | Paid by the applicant (amount not published); landlord may choose to cover it | Not published | Not published | Tenant rent reporting $4.95 a month; prices exclude taxes (paid by the tenant) |
| Innago | Free for landlords: no monthly, yearly or setup fee | None; no contract | Free | $2 per payment; tenant pays by default, landlord can absorb it | 2.99% of the payment; tenant pays by default, landlord can absorb it | $30 to $35 per applicant (paid by the applicant) | Free for landlords | Not published | Not published |
| Avail | Unlimited plan $0 per unit; Unlimited Plus $9 per unit per month (paid by the owner) | None stated | Not published | $2.50 per transfer on the free plan, added to the tenant's payment; no fee on Unlimited Plus (paid by the tenant) | 3.5% processing fee on both plans, added to the tenant's payment (paid by the tenant) | Price varies by location (not stated); most commonly paid by the tenant | State-specific leases with digital signing included; no separate fee shown | Not published | FastPay is an Unlimited Plus feature; renters insurance by quote (owner or tenant pays) |
| Hemlane | Starter $0; Basic $2 per unit + $28 platform fee a month; Essential $20 per unit + $28; Complete $58 per unit + $28 (the last two include services) (paid by the owner) | $28 monthly platform fee on every paid plan (paid by the owner) | Not published | No fee | 3% on debit or credit card payments (paid by the tenant) | $40 total (paid by the applicant) | Document storage and e-sign included from Basic up; no separate fee shown | Not published | Tenant placement from $695; inspections from $300; Eviction Shield from $4.95 a month; premium listing on 7 more sites $89 for 30 days (paid by the owner) |
| Rentec Direct | Starter $25 a month flat; Pro $2.00 per unit; PM $2.50 per unit (paid by the owner) | $50 a month on Pro and PM; no long-term contract (paid by the owner) | Free, including onboarding | Starter $2.00 each; Pro and PM free for one per active property per month, then $0.50 each; $0.50 to verify a new bank account | Visa, Mastercard, Discover 3.50% on Starter and 2.95% on Pro and PM (minimum $1.00); American Express 3.50%; the tenant or manager chooses who pays | Starter: $14.95 basic, $20.95 enhanced, $29.45 premium. Pro and PM: $10, $13, $18 (paid by the applicant) | Free; fair-use charge of $2.50 each above 15% of your property count in signatures (paid by the owner) | Outgoing ACH $2.00 on Starter, $0.50 on Pro and PM (paid by the owner) | Cash payments (Pro and PM): $200 one-time setup, $4.99 per payment paid by the tenant; ACH returns $5.00 or $35.00; chargebacks $35.00; text messages free up to a fair-use limit |
| Landlord Studio | Go free (3 units); Pro $144 billed yearly or $15 a month; Pro Plus $336 billed yearly or $35 a month; Pro and Pro Plus include 3 units, then each extra unit is $1.00 a month on yearly billing or $1.20 on monthly billing (per the calculator on the pricing page) (paid by the owner) | None stated | No setup costs for online rent collection | $2.50 per payment; you choose whether the landlord or the tenant pays | 3.49% of the payment (paid by the tenant) | $55 on Go, $45 on Pro; Pro Plus price not listed | Not stated on the pages read | Not published | Xero integration, bank feeds (5 accounts) and advanced reports start on Pro (paid by the owner) |
| Zillow Rental Manager | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Application and screening reports free for the landlord; the renter pays a $40 application fee covering 30 days of unlimited applications to participating rentals | Not published | Not published | Not published |
Read from each company's own pricing pages and help center on the dates in Sources. "Not published" means we could not find the fee on the company's own site; it may still apply. Fees a landlord can pass to tenants are marked.
- AppFolio: www.appfolio.com/pricing
- AppFolio: www.appfolio.com/help/online-portal
- Buildium: www.buildium.com/pricing/
- Buildium: www.buildium.com/pricing-options/
- Rent Manager: www.rentmanager.com/pricing/
- Rent Manager: www.rentmanager.com/integrations/checkpoint-screening/
- Rent Manager: www.rentmanager.com/payments/
- Yardi Breeze: www.yardibreeze.com/pricing/
- Yardi Breeze: resources.yardi.com/legal/breeze/tou/
- DoorLoop: www.doorloop.com/pricing
- DoorLoop: www.doorloop.com/faq
- TurboTenant: www.turbotenant.com/pricing/
- TurboTenant: www.turbotenant.com/rental-accounting/
- Baselane: www.baselane.com/pricing
- Baselane: www.baselane.com/rent-collection
- RentRedi: rentredi.com/pricing/
- RentRedi: help.rentredi.com/en/articles/4474091-convenience-fees-for-rent-payments
- RentRedi: rentredi.com/landlords
- Stessa: www.stessa.com/pricing/
- Stessa: support.stessa.com/en/articles/6202921-stessa-rent-collection-for-tenants
- Stessa: www.stessa.com/leasing/
- TenantCloud: www.tenantcloud.com/pricing
- TenantCloud: www.tenantcloud.com/pricing/online-payments
- TenantCloud: support.tenantcloud.com/faq/question/905
- TenantCloud: www.tenantcloud.com/pricing/tenant-screening
- Innago: help.innago.com/?p=601
- Innago: innago.com/pricing/
- Innago: innago.com/5-best-lease-signing-software/
- Avail: www.avail.com/pricing
- Hemlane: www.hemlane.com/pricing/
- Rentec Direct: www.rentecdirect.com/pricing-transparency
- Landlord Studio: www.landlordstudio.com/pricing
- Landlord Studio: www.landlordstudio.com/features/online-rent-collection
- Landlord Studio: help.landlordstudio.com/en/articles/6098699-feature-breakdown
- Zillow Rental Manager: www.zillow.com/rental-manager/rental-applications-faq/
Side by side
DoorKeeping vs Hemlane for owners with a few to a few dozen units
DoorKeeping vs Rentec Direct: every published fee side by side
DoorKeeping vs Landlord Studio for owners with a handful of units
DoorKeeping vs Zillow Rental Manager: finding a tenant or running the building
RentRedi alternatives for landlords with 5 to 50 units
Property management software for 1 to 10 units: a buyer's guide
DoorKeeping vs AppFolio: what each costs and what each does today
DoorKeeping vs Buildium: plans, per-use fees and features
DoorKeeping vs Rent Manager: a deep toolkit next to a light one
DoorKeeping vs Yardi Breeze: $1 with a minimum, or $2 without
DoorKeeping vs DoorLoop: two takes on AI property management
AppFolio alternatives for owners with fewer than 50 units
DoorKeeping vs TurboTenant for apartment owners
DoorKeeping vs Baselane: bank first or books first
DoorKeeping vs RentRedi for owners with 5 or more units
DoorKeeping vs Stessa: rental bookkeeping and beyond
DoorKeeping vs TenantCloud: tiers or one price
DoorKeeping vs Innago: free for landlords, or free for tenants
Sources
- AppFolio, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
- Buildium, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
- Rent Manager, Pricing (bundles), read Oct 30, 2026
- Yardi Breeze, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
- DoorLoop, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
- TurboTenant, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
- Baselane, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
- RentRedi, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
- Stessa, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
- TenantCloud, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
- Innago, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
- Avail, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
- Hemlane, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
- Rentec Direct, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
- Landlord Studio, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
- Zillow Rental Manager, Rental applications FAQ (read through search; the site blocks automated page reads), read Oct 30, 2026