DoorKeeping vs Stessa: rental bookkeeping and beyond
Save $336 a year
against Stessa Pro at 40 units, software and tenant fees together.
Your tenants save $960 a year in rent payment fees: $0 with DoorKeeping, $2 per bank payment at Stessa. Paying by card adds 3% of the payment at Stessa.
Switch to DoorKeepingTry the demo
Example math from Stessa's own published prices, read Oct 30, 2026. Details below.
Stessa is a bookkeeping and reporting tool for rental investors, with a free Essentials plan, paid Manage and Pro plans and its own landlord banking; it is priced per account, not per unit. DoorKeeping keeps one set of books per LLC-owned property and runs day-to-day operations through Claude or ChatGPT for $2 per unit per month. Stessa costs less and imports bank transactions on its free plan; DoorKeeping adds an AI you can ask and approvals for every money step.
What Stessa is built to do
Stessa's accounting page describes its core: connect banks, lenders, credit cards and property managers, and Stessa "securely imports, categorizes, and indexes all your expenses". Receipt scanning, dashboards and tax reports sit on top. Around that core it has added rent collection, tenant screening through RentPrep, listings, lease templates with DocuSign e-signing, maintenance tracking and landlord bank accounts held through Thread Bank, Member FDIC, according to its home page.
In short, Stessa is where many investors look first when the question is "what did my rentals actually make?". That is also one of the main questions DoorKeeping answers, so the comparison comes down to how you want to get the answer and what else you need around it.
The pricing math
Stessa's pricing page says every plan includes an unlimited number of properties. Essentials is free. Manage is $12 a month paid yearly or $15 paid monthly. Pro is $28 a month paid yearly or $35 paid monthly. Essentials and Manage include one portfolio; Pro allows unlimited portfolios.
| Made-up owner | Stessa Essentials | Stessa Manage (yearly) | Stessa Pro (yearly) | DoorKeeping |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 units | $0 | $144 | $336 | $288 |
| 60 units | $0 | $144 | $336 | $1,440 |
Example a made-up owner with 60 units in five LLCs who wants each LLC as its own portfolio. Stessa Pro, the plan with unlimited portfolios, costs $28 x 12 = $336 a year. DoorKeeping costs 60 x $2 x 12 = $1,440 a year. For a 12 unit owner on Pro, it is $336 against DoorKeeping's 12 x $2 x 12 = $288.
So Stessa is cheaper at 60 units on every plan. At 12 units, DoorKeeping costs less than Stessa Pro and more than Manage or the free plan.
Bookkeeping and operations, side by side
| Stessa | DoorKeeping | |
|---|---|---|
| Bank feeds | Automatic, all plans | Yes, with deposits matched to rent |
| Receipt scanning | 5 a month on Essentials and Manage, unlimited on Pro | AI reads and codes bills and invoices |
| Schedule E report | Manage and Pro | Expense accounts map to Schedule E lines |
| Separate books per property | Properties within a portfolio; unlimited portfolios on Pro | One LLC per property, each with ledger, bank account, deposits held and P&L |
| Landlord banking with interest | Yes, up to 2.02% APY (3.49% on Pro), variable | No; you keep your own bank |
| Leases and e-signing | DocuSign; free on Manage and Pro | Yes, included |
| Ask an AI about your books | Not described | Yes, Claude or ChatGPT |
Stessa facts from its pricing, accounting, leasing and rent collection pages on 2026-10-29. Its pricing page says interest rates are variable and effective as of 09/17/2026.
Where Stessa is ahead
Stessa's free plan is the biggest practical difference. Transactions flow in on their own and Stessa sorts them, at no cost. Stessa also has a free plan with real bookkeeping, receipt scanning, budgeting and pro formas on Pro, interest-bearing accounts, and a leasing stack: listings syndicated to Zillow's sites per its leasing page, RentPrep screening and attorney-drafted state lease templates. And if you want to hand the whole job over, Stessa points to full-service management through Mynd.
Where DoorKeeping is different
DoorKeeping starts from a rule many apartment owners already follow: one LLC owns one property. Each property therefore gets its own ledger, its own bank account, its own record of security deposits held and its own P&L, and the owner sees all of them together. That is a structure, not a report filter, so a building's books are always ready for its own tax return.
The second difference is the way you work. Instead of opening a dashboard, you ask Claude or ChatGPT, which DoorKeeping connects to, and get answers from the books: "show me the P&L for the Maple LLC this year", "which tenants have not paid October?". When an answer needs an action that moves money or takes a legal step, it waits in the web app for your one-tap approval.
- Rent goes straight to the property's bank; DoorKeeping never holds it and sends a payment only when you approve it.
- Tenants get a memo like 12B SMITH and an exact amount with its own cents, so deposits are easy to match by eye.
- Price is $2 per unit per month with every feature included, and no setup fee or minimum.
Which to pick
If you mainly want to see income and expenses across a few rentals and pay little or nothing, Stessa is a strong fit. If you own apartment buildings in separate LLCs and want to run them, not just report on them, by asking an AI app with approvals in place, DoorKeeping is built for that. You can see it in the demo or read the pricing.
Why switch from Stessa
- Lower cost: about $336 a year less than Stessa Pro at 40 units, from the published prices above.
- Tenants pay $0 to pay rent by bank transfer. A credit card payment carries a 3% card fee. Credit cards only. At Stessa: 3% of the payment (credit or debit).
- Every feature on one plan. On Stessa's Pro plan, full accounting (ledger, p&l, balance sheet), budgets and budget vs actual need a higher plan or cost extra.
- Run your buildings from the Claude or ChatGPT you already use; money and legal steps wait for your one-tap approval.
- Rent goes straight to your own bank. DoorKeeping never holds your money.
What one year costs: Stessa and DoorKeeping
Example math, not a quote: Stessa's Pro plan, billed the cheapest published way, plus the published fee for a tenant paying rent by bank 12 times a year per unit. Balance sheet is on Pro only, so Pro is used: $28 a month billed yearly is $336 a year, unlimited properties. Essentials is free with rent collection, general ledger and P&L but no balance sheet. Tenant ACH is up to $2, free into a Stessa Cash Management account.
| Stessa (Pro) | DoorKeeping | |
|---|---|---|
| 10 unitsPro | $576$336 software + $240 tenant bank fees2.4x DoorKeeping | $240No other fees |
| 40 unitsPro | $1,296$336 software + $960 tenant bank fees1.4x DoorKeeping | $960No other fees |
| 100 unitsPro | $2,736$336 software + $2,400 tenant bank fees1.1x DoorKeeping | $2,400No other fees |
Feature by feature: Stessa and DoorKeeping
22 of 32 features are included on the plan above at Stessa, and 32 at DoorKeeping. Read from Stessa's own pages on Oct 30, 2026; "Not stated" means we could not find it on Stessa's own site.
| Stessa (Pro) | DoorKeeping | |
|---|---|---|
| Accounting | ||
| Full accounting (ledger, P&L, balance sheet) | IncludedGeneral ledger and P&L free; balance sheet on Pro only | IncludedSeparate books for each property, rolled up |
| Bank feeds and reconciliation | IncludedUnlimited bank data feeds on all plans; no reconciliation named | IncludedConnect your bank; deposits matched to rent |
| Owner statementsIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedBuilt from the books |
| Tax reports such as Schedule E | IncludedSchedule E on Manage and Pro; not on free Essentials | IncludedSchedule E from the books |
| 1099 forms for vendorsIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | Included1099-NEC report from the books |
| Budgets and budget vs actual | IncludedBudgeting and pro forma on Pro only | IncludedBudgets and budget vs actual |
| Bills read and coded automatically | IncludedSmart receipt scanning, 5 a month (unlimited on Pro) | IncludedAI reads invoices and codes each line |
| Pay vendors from the softwareIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedPay vendors from your own bank after your tap |
| QuickBooks connectionIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedSync with QuickBooks Online |
| Rent | ||
| Online rent collection | IncludedAll plans; tenant pays up to $2 per ACH payment | IncludedFree, straight to your own bank |
| Tenant autopay | IncludedTenant autopay on all plans | IncludedTenants authorize it once; rent comes from their bank on the due date, free |
| Automatic late fees | IncludedAutomated reminders and late fees on all plans | IncludedPosted automatically within state caps |
| Tenant portal | IncludedResident portal for rent and maintenance | IncludedInvite link, nothing to install |
| Leasing | ||
| Listing page for every vacancyIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedA public page per vacant unit, with Apply and Schedule a showing |
| Listings on Zillow and more | IncludedVacancy ads and syndication to Zillow on all plans | IncludedList on Zillow and more |
| Online rental applications | IncludedTenant applications on all plans | IncludedOnline applications by link |
| Tenant screening | IncludedBuilt-in RentPrep checks on all plans | IncludedOur exact cost, no markup |
| E-signed leases | IncludedDocuSign, 1 a month on Manage, 7 on Pro; none free | IncludedBuilt in, no per-document fee |
| Lease renewals | IncludedRenew lease action on each lease | IncludedRenewal offers drafted for your approval |
| Maintenance | ||
| Maintenance requests and work orders | IncludedMaintenance requests on all plans; tenants submit in portal | IncludedRequests become work orders |
| Vendor dispatchIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedSend jobs to your vendors by link, no account |
| Move-in and move-out inspectionsIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedMove-in and move-out checklists by link |
| AI and communication | ||
| Messages to tenants (email or text)Included with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedEmail to tenants and vendors |
| AI assistantIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedAsk in plain words; money steps wait for your tap |
| Works inside Claude and ChatGPTIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedConnects to the Claude or ChatGPT you already use |
| Ready-made automations | IncludedAutomated rent reminders and late fees | IncludedOne-toggle automations |
| Team, security and support | ||
| Team members and roles | IncludedCollaborators as Manager, Editor or Read Only | IncludedRoles for your team |
| Two-factor sign-in | IncludedAuthenticator app codes | IncludedAuthenticator app and recovery codes |
| Mobile app | IncludediOS and Android app | IncludediPhone and Android app |
| Document storage | IncludedUnlimited document and receipt storage on all plans | IncludedStore and share by expiring link |
| Support | IncludedBasic support free; priority chat on Manage; phone on Pro | IncludedEmail support@doorkeeping.com |
| Onboarding and data import | IncludedSelf-serve import of CSV, QIF, QFX and OFX files | IncludedFree and self-serve; import your rent roll |
Every fee: Stessa and DoorKeeping
Everything Stessa publishes that an owner, a tenant or an applicant pays, next to DoorKeeping, read from Stessa's own pages (www.stessa.com/pricing/, support.stessa.com/en/articles/6202921-stessa-rent-collection-for-tenants, www.stessa.com/leasing/). "Not published" means it is not on Stessa's own site.
| Fee | Stessa | DoorKeeping |
|---|---|---|
| Software price | Essentials free; Manage $12 a month yearly or $15 monthly; Pro $28 a month yearly or $35 monthly; unlimited properties (paid by the owner) | $2 per unit per month, every feature included (paid by the owner) |
| Minimum or contract | None | None. No minimum and no contract |
| Setup or onboarding | Not published | None |
| Rent paid by bank (ACH) | Free in some cases, up to $2 per payment (paid by the tenant) | Free. Tenants pay your own bank directly |
| Rent paid by card | 3% of the payment (credit or debit) (paid by the tenant) | 3% card fee, credit cards only; bank transfer stays free (paid by the tenant) |
| Tenant screening | $29 credit report or background check; $49 complete package; income verification add-on $10, income and employment $15; landlord or tenant pay options (owner or tenant pays) | No markup: our exact cost. Paid by the applicant by default, or by you if you choose |
| E-signatures | None on Essentials; Manage includes 1 a month and Pro 7 a month; no per-signature price published (paid by the owner) | Included, no per-document fee |
| Payouts to owners or vendors | Not published | None. DoorKeeping never holds your money and sends a payment only when you approve it |
| Other published fees | State-specific lease templates $15 each on Essentials (included on Manage and Pro) (paid by the owner) | None |
Sources
- Stessa, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
- Stessa, Accounting, read Oct 29, 2026
- Stessa, Leasing and tenant screening, read Oct 29, 2026
- Stessa, Rent collection, read Oct 29, 2026
- Stessa, Home page, read Oct 29, 2026
Questions
- Is Stessa free?
- Stessa's Essentials plan is free with unlimited properties. Manage is $12 a month and Pro $28 a month when paid yearly, per its pricing page.
- Does DoorKeeping import bank transactions like Stessa?
- Yes. Bank feeds bring in each property's transactions, and deposits are matched to rent. You work with the books through your AI app.
- Can I keep separate books for each LLC?
- In DoorKeeping, yes: one LLC owns one property, with its own ledger, bank account, deposits and P&L. Stessa groups properties into portfolios, and its Pro plan allows unlimited portfolios.