Skip to main content

DoorKeeping vs RentRedi for owners with 5 or more units

Save $852 a year

against RentRedi Annual plan plus REI Hub at 40 units, software and tenant fees together.

Your tenants save $480 a year in rent payment fees: $0 with DoorKeeping, $1 per bank payment at RentRedi (you can choose to pay it instead). Paying by card adds 3.1% + $0.30 per payment at RentRedi.

  1. DoorKeepingOne plan, every feature$960
  2. RentRediAnnual plan plus REI Hub, most features$1,812

Switch to DoorKeepingTry the demo

Example math from RentRedi's own published prices, read Oct 30, 2026. Details below.

RentRedi suits a landlord who wants leasing and rent collection in one app for one flat fee: $12 a month billed yearly for unlimited properties, with tenants paying a $1 ACH fee by default. DoorKeeping suits an apartment owner who wants each LLC's books kept separately and the work done by asking Claude or ChatGPT, at $2 per unit per month with rent paid straight to the owner's bank. RentRedi costs far less at 60 units and has listings, screening and e-signing today.

Who each one is for

RentRedi's features page is about the tenant cycle: post a unit once and it "reaches Zillow, Realtor.com, Trulia and HotPads", screen with TransUnion reports and Plaid income checks, have tenants e-sign in the app, then collect rent by ACH, card or cash at retail locations. Accounting and maintenance requests are included too. The landlords quoted on its pages own 5, 11 and 30 properties.

DoorKeeping is narrower today and aimed at a different moment. It is for owners of apartment buildings, usually 5 units or more, who already have tenants and want the business side under control: books per property, who owes what, and decisions made by asking an AI app and approving with one tap.

Flat price against per-unit price

RentRedi's pricing page lists three ways to pay for the same features: $29.95 billed monthly, $20 a month billed every six months, or $12 a month billed yearly. It states there are no per-unit fees and that the plans differ only in how you pay.

Made-up ownerRentRedi yearly planRentRedi monthly planDoorKeeping
12 units$12 x 12 = $144$29.95 x 12 = $359.4012 x $2 x 12 = $288
60 units$12 x 12 = $144$29.95 x 12 = $359.4060 x $2 x 12 = $1,440

The arithmetic is simple: RentRedi's price does not move with your unit count, and DoorKeeping's does. At 12 units the two are close (DoorKeeping is between RentRedi's yearly and monthly plans). At 60 units RentRedi's yearly plan is about a tenth of DoorKeeping's price.

Rent fees and where the money goes

RentRedi's help center article on convenience fees lists $1.00 for an ACH or bank payment and 3.1% + $0.30 for a credit or debit card payment. By default the tenant pays them; the landlord can choose to cover either or both in settings.

Example a made-up 60 unit owner on RentRedi who chooses to cover the $1 ACH fee so tenants pay nothing. Every tenant pays by bank, once a month: 60 x 12 x $1 = $720 a year from the owner, on top of the $144 plan, for $864 in total. A tenant paying $1,250 rent by card instead would pay 3.1% x $1,250 + $0.30 = $39.05.

DoorKeeping sits outside the payment entirely. Tenants pay into the property's own bank account by bank transfer, or by Zelle where the owner's bank supports it, and DoorKeeping takes nothing from it. To make each deposit easy to identify, every tenant is given a memo like 12B SMITH and an exact amount with its own cents. The trade-off is real: RentRedi offers card and cash payments, and DoorKeeping does not.

Leasing tools: RentRedi is ahead

Credit where it is due. RentRedi has a complete leasing flow today and DoorKeeping does not. Screening on RentRedi costs the applicant $39.99 for credit, criminal and eviction reports, or $49.99 with Plaid income verification, per its pricing page. It also offers rent reporting to the three credit bureaus for $5.99 a month, a 30-day money-back period, Spanish-language tenant support and unlimited teammates.

DoorKeeping takes over once you pick the tenant: it sends the lease for e-signature and invites the tenant to the portal. If you fill vacancies often, RentRedi's listings and screening matter.

Feature table

FeatureRentRediDoorKeeping
Pricing modelOne flat price, unlimited units$2 per unit per month, every feature
E-signed leasesYes, in the tenant appYes, leases and renewal offers
Rent by card or cashYes, with feesNo; bank transfer or Zelle to your own bank
Separate books per LLCNot describedYes, ledger, bank account, deposits and P&L per property
Schedule E mappingTax-ready reports, Schedule E not namedExpense accounts map to Schedule E lines
Work from Claude or ChatGPTNot describedYes
Approval queue for money and legal stepsNot describedYes, one tap

Why an owner might still pick DoorKeeping

The case for DoorKeeping is not price. It is how the work gets done. You ask Claude or ChatGPT what you would ask a bookkeeper or property manager ("which units are behind?", "what was net operating income on Oak Street in September?"), and the AI answers from that property's own ledger. When the answer leads to an action involving money or a legal step, it lands in your approval queue instead of happening by itself. And because one LLC owns one property in DoorKeeping, the books for each building stay apart all year, while you still see the whole portfolio at once.

Read how DoorKeeping connects to your AI or compare all prices on the compare page.

Why switch from RentRedi

  • Lower cost: about $852 a year less than RentRedi Annual plan plus REI Hub at 40 units, from the published prices above.
  • Tenants pay $0 to pay rent by bank transfer. A credit card payment carries a 3% card fee. Credit cards only. At RentRedi: $1.00 per payment; tenant pays by default, landlord can choose to cover; 3.1% + $0.30 per payment (debit cards charged the card rate); tenant pays by default, landlord can choose to cover.
  • Every feature on one plan. On RentRedi's Annual plan plus REI Hub plan, full accounting (ledger, p&l, balance sheet), owner statements, vendor dispatch need a higher plan or cost extra.
  • Run your buildings from the Claude or ChatGPT you already use; money and legal steps wait for your one-tap approval.
  • Rent goes straight to your own bank. DoorKeeping never holds your money.

Switch to DoorKeeping

What one year costs: RentRedi and DoorKeeping

Example math, not a quote: RentRedi's Annual plan plus REI Hub plan, billed the cheapest published way, plus the published fee for a tenant paying rent by bank 12 times a year per unit. Base plan $12 a month billed yearly ($144) includes rent and basic accounting with no balance sheet; full accounting needs REI Hub, billed monthly by units: $39 for 4 to 10 units ($468), $99 for unlimited units ($1,188). Without REI Hub it is $144 a year at any size.

RentRedi (Annual plan plus REI Hub)DoorKeeping
10 unitsAnnual plan plus REI Hub$732$612 software + $120 tenant bank fees3.0x DoorKeeping$240No other fees
40 unitsAnnual plan plus REI Hub$1,812$1,332 software + $480 tenant bank fees1.9x DoorKeeping$960No other fees
100 unitsAnnual plan plus REI Hub$2,532$1,332 software + $1,200 tenant bank fees1.1x DoorKeeping$2,400No other fees

Feature by feature: RentRedi and DoorKeeping

21 of 32 features are included on the plan above at RentRedi, and 32 at DoorKeeping. Read from RentRedi's own pages on Oct 30, 2026; "Not stated" means we could not find it on RentRedi's own site.

RentRedi (Annual plan plus REI Hub)DoorKeeping
Accounting
Full accounting (ledger, P&L, balance sheet)Included with DoorKeepingAdd-onBuilt-in P&L and Schedule E; balance sheet needs REI Hub, $25 to $99 a monthIncludedSeparate books for each property, rolled up
Bank feeds and reconciliationIncluded with DoorKeepingNot statedIncludedConnect your bank; deposits matched to rent
Owner statementsIncluded with DoorKeepingAdd-onOwner Statement report in the REI Hub add-onIncludedBuilt from the books
Tax reports such as Schedule EIncludedSchedule E reports in built-in accountingIncludedSchedule E from the books
1099 forms for vendorsIncluded with DoorKeepingNot statedIncluded1099-NEC report from the books
Budgets and budget vs actualIncluded with DoorKeepingNot statedIncludedBudgets and budget vs actual
Bills read and coded automaticallyIncludedAI reads receipt photos and sorts expensesIncludedAI reads invoices and codes each line
Pay vendors from the softwareIncluded with DoorKeepingNot statedIncludedPay vendors from your own bank after your tap
QuickBooks connectionIncludedOne-way file export to QuickBooks; no live syncIncludedSync with QuickBooks Online
Rent
Online rent collectionIncludedACH $1 a payment, tenant pays by defaultIncludedFree, straight to your own bank
Tenant autopayIncludedTenants set up autopay in the appIncludedTenants authorize it once; rent comes from their bank on the due date, free
Automatic late feesIncludedLate fees calculate and apply themselvesIncludedPosted automatically within state caps
Tenant portalIncludedTenant app for payments, maintenance and chatIncludedInvite link, nothing to install
Leasing
Listing page for every vacancyIncluded with DoorKeepingNot statedIncludedA public page per vacant unit, with Apply and Schedule a showing
Listings on Zillow and moreIncludedPosts to Zillow, Realtor.com, Trulia and HotPadsIncludedList on Zillow and more
Online rental applicationsIncludedOnline applications with screeningIncludedOnline applications by link
Tenant screeningIncludedTransUnion; applicant pays $39.99, or $49.99 with income checkIncludedOur exact cost, no markup
E-signed leasesIncludedE-sign leases in the appIncludedBuilt in, no per-document fee
Lease renewalsIncludedExtend the lease date or add a new lease termIncludedRenewal offers drafted for your approval
Maintenance
Maintenance requests and work ordersIncludedTenants submit requests in the app; you track each ticketIncludedRequests become work orders
Vendor dispatchIncluded with DoorKeepingAdd-onLatchel or Lessen coordination; fees not publishedIncludedSend jobs to your vendors by link, no account
Move-in and move-out inspectionsIncluded with DoorKeepingNot statedIncludedMove-in and move-out checklists by link
AI and communication
Messages to tenants (email or text)IncludedIn-app chat; notices by push and emailIncludedEmail to tenants and vendors
AI assistantIncluded with DoorKeepingNot statedIncludedAsk in plain words; money steps wait for your tap
Works inside Claude and ChatGPTIncluded with DoorKeepingNot statedIncludedConnects to the Claude or ChatGPT you already use
Ready-made automationsIncludedRent, autopay, late fees and reminders run automaticallyIncludedOne-toggle automations
Team, security and support
Team members and rolesIncludedUnlimited teammates with access set by the ownerIncludedRoles for your team
Two-factor sign-inIncluded2-factor authentication offeredIncludedAuthenticator app and recovery codes
Mobile appIncludedRentRedi app for owners on iOS and AndroidIncludediPhone and Android app
Document storageIncludedUnit and tenant document storageIncludedStore and share by expiring link
SupportIncluded24/7 live chat; weekday phone support 9 to 5 EasternIncludedEmail support@doorkeeping.com
Onboarding and data importIncludedAI-guided setup; no general data import statedIncludedFree and self-serve; import your rent roll

Every fee: RentRedi and DoorKeeping

Everything RentRedi publishes that an owner, a tenant or an applicant pays, next to DoorKeeping, read from RentRedi's own pages (rentredi.com/pricing/, help.rentredi.com/en/articles/4474091-convenience-fees-for-rent-payments, rentredi.com/landlords). "Not published" means it is not on RentRedi's own site.

FeeRentRediDoorKeeping
Software price$12 a month billed yearly, $20 a month billed every 6 months, or $29.95 billed monthly; unlimited units (paid by the owner)$2 per unit per month, every feature included (paid by the owner)
Minimum or contractNone; no contract, cancel anytimeNone. No minimum and no contract
Setup or onboardingNot publishedNone
Rent paid by bank (ACH)$1.00 per payment; tenant pays by default, landlord can choose to coverFree. Tenants pay your own bank directly
Rent paid by card3.1% + $0.30 per payment (debit cards charged the card rate); tenant pays by default, landlord can choose to cover3% card fee, credit cards only; bank transfer stays free (paid by the tenant)
Tenant screening$39.99 (credit, criminal, eviction); $49.99 with income verification (paid by the applicant)No markup: our exact cost. Paid by the applicant by default, or by you if you choose
E-signaturesNo fee published; leases are e-signed in the appIncluded, no per-document fee
Payouts to owners or vendorsNot publishedNone. DoorKeeping never holds your money and sends a payment only when you approve it
Other published feesCredit reporting $5.99 a month, paid by landlord or tenantNone

Sources

  1. RentRedi, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
  2. RentRedi, Features for landlords, read Oct 29, 2026
  3. RentRedi Help Center, Convenience fees for rent payments, read Oct 29, 2026

Questions

How much is RentRedi for 50 units?
The same as for one unit. RentRedi's pricing page lists one flat price for unlimited properties: $12 a month billed yearly, $20 billed every six months or $29.95 billed monthly.
Who pays RentRedi's rent payment fees?
The tenant, by default: $1 per ACH payment and 3.1% + $0.30 per card payment, per RentRedi's help center. The landlord can choose to cover either fee.
Does DoorKeeping charge tenants to pay rent?
No. Tenants pay the owner's own bank by bank transfer, or Zelle where the bank supports it. DoorKeeping never holds rent.