DoorKeeping vs TenantCloud: tiers or one price
Save $360 a year
against TenantCloud Pro at 40 units, software and tenant fees together.
Your tenants save $720 a year in rent payment fees: $0 with DoorKeeping, $2 per bank payment at TenantCloud.
Switch to DoorKeepingTry the demo
Example math from TenantCloud's own published prices, read Oct 30, 2026. Details below.
TenantCloud is a full property management suite sold in tiers that cap how many leases, bank accounts and legal entities you can use: a 12 unit owner needs Growth ($350 a year) and a 60 unit owner needs Pro ($600 a year). DoorKeeping has no tiers: $2 per unit per month with every feature, books kept per LLC, and the work done through Claude or ChatGPT. TenantCloud is cheaper at 60 units and has listings, screening, e-signing and an owner portal today.
Two pricing models
TenantCloud's pricing page offers four plans. Every plan allows unlimited properties and units, but each caps other things: leases, bank accounts, legal entities, team members, storage and more. Prices billed yearly are $15 a month for Starter ($180 a year), $29.17 for Growth ($350 a year) and $50 for Pro ($600 a year), with Business custom from $100 a month. Billed monthly, Growth is $35 and Pro $60; the page shows two different monthly prices for Starter.
| Limit | Starter | Growth | Pro |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leases | 10 | 30 | 60 |
| Bank accounts | 1 | 2 or 3 (the page shows both) | 9 |
| Legal entities | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| Team members | None | 1 | 1 |
| Tenant ACH fee | $1.95 | $1.75 | $1.50 |
DoorKeeping counts one thing, units, and charges $2 for each per month. Every feature, every property LLC and every bank account comes with it.
Worked prices for 12 and 60 units
Example a made-up owner with 12 leased units in one LLC. Starter allows 10 leases, so this owner needs Growth: $350 a year billed yearly, or $35 x 12 = $420 billed monthly. DoorKeeping: 12 x $2 x 12 = $288 a year.
Example a made-up owner with 60 leased units. Pro allows exactly 60 leases: $600 a year billed yearly, or $60 x 12 = $720 billed monthly. DoorKeeping: 60 x $2 x 12 = $1,440 a year. If this owner holds the 60 units in five LLCs, Pro's limit of 3 legal entities may not be enough, and the next step is a custom Business quote.
Tenants pay TenantCloud's ACH fee per payment, per its rent collection page, which also says the fee is waived for tenants enrolled in rent reporting at $4.95 a month.
Example in the made-up 60 unit building on Pro, if every tenant pays by ACH each month, tenants pay 60 x 12 x $1.50 = $1,080 a year between them. In the 12 unit building on Growth: 12 x 12 x $1.75 = $252.
In DoorKeeping, tenants pay the property's own bank directly, and DoorKeeping charges them nothing.
What each includes
| Feature | TenantCloud | DoorKeeping |
|---|---|---|
| Online rent | ACH and card through TenantCloud Payments | Tenants pay your own bank by transfer or Zelle |
| E-signed leases | Yes | Yes, leases and renewal offers |
| Bank reconciliation | Pro | Yes, bank feeds matched to rent, all owners |
| Tax and Schedule E reports | Pro | Expense accounts map to Schedule E lines, all owners |
| Owner statements | Pro, with a separate owner portal | Yes, from each property's books |
| Maintenance requests | Yes, with service pros | Yes, work orders sent to vendors by link |
| Books per LLC | Entities capped by plan | Every property is its own LLC with its own books |
| Work through Claude or ChatGPT | Not described | Yes |
TenantCloud facts from its pricing, rent collection, accounting and home pages on 2026-10-29.
What TenantCloud does that DoorKeeping does not
TenantCloud covers more ground today. Its home page lists listings syndicated to sites such as Rentler, Apartments.com and Realtor.com, tenant screening packages, online leases with e-signatures, maintenance requests assigned to service pros, an owner portal for property managers who work for other owners, and 10+ integrations including QuickBooks. Its accounting page lists a long set of reports, including a 1099 tax form report, owner statements and deposits and liabilities. Pro adds bank reconciliation. If you manage for other owners, the owner portal alone may decide it.
What DoorKeeping offers instead
DoorKeeping is built for a self-managing owner of apartment buildings rather than a management company. Its design choices follow from that:
- No limits to watch. There is no lease count, entity count or bank account count that pushes you to a higher plan. Grow from 12 to 60 units and the price grows by the unit, nothing else changes.
- Each building is its own company on paper. One LLC owns one property, and each has its own ledger, bank account, deposits held and P&L, rolled up so you see every property together.
- You work by asking. Claude or ChatGPT, connected to DoorKeeping, answers questions from your books and drafts the next step.
- You stay in control of money. Every step that moves money or has legal weight waits for your one-tap approval in the web app.
- Rent never passes through DoorKeeping. Tenants pay your bank with a memo like 12B SMITH and an amount with its own cents, so each payment is easy to recognize.
More on the pricing page and the security page.
Why switch from TenantCloud
- Lower cost: about $360 a year less than TenantCloud Pro at 40 units, from the published prices above.
- Tenants pay $0 to pay rent by bank transfer. A credit card payment carries a 3% card fee. Credit cards only. At TenantCloud: $1.95 per payment on Starter, $1.75 on Growth, $1.50 on Pro; waived for tenants in $4.95 a month rent reporting; Amount not published; payer covers card fees by default, landlord can pay them via support.
- No minimum and no contract. At TenantCloud: No minimum spend; plans cap leases at 10, 30 and 60.
- Every feature on one plan. On TenantCloud's Pro plan, full accounting (ledger, p&l, balance sheet), bank feeds and reconciliation, owner statements, tax reports such as schedule e and more need a higher plan or cost extra.
- Run your buildings from the Claude or ChatGPT you already use; money and legal steps wait for your one-tap approval.
What one year costs: TenantCloud and DoorKeeping
Example math, not a quote: TenantCloud's Pro plan, billed the cheapest published way, plus the published fee for a tenant paying rent by bank 12 times a year per unit. Full accounting is on Pro: $50 a month billed yearly is $600, capped at 60 leases. 100 units needs Business, from $100 a month on a custom quote, so no exact price. TurboTenant bought TenantCloud in 2026 and is moving its landlords over.
| TenantCloud (Pro) | DoorKeeping | |
|---|---|---|
| 10 unitsPro | $780$600 software + $180 tenant bank fees3.3x DoorKeeping | $240No other fees |
| 40 unitsPro | $1,320$600 software + $720 tenant bank fees1.4x DoorKeeping | $960No other fees |
| 100 unitsPro | Not published | $2,400No other fees |
Feature by feature: TenantCloud and DoorKeeping
22 of 32 features are included on the plan above at TenantCloud, and 32 at DoorKeeping. Read from TenantCloud's own pages on Oct 30, 2026; "Not stated" means we could not find it on TenantCloud's own site.
| TenantCloud (Pro) | DoorKeeping | |
|---|---|---|
| Accounting | ||
| Full accounting (ledger, P&L, balance sheet) | IncludedFull accounting on Pro and Business; basic income and expenses on all | IncludedSeparate books for each property, rolled up |
| Bank feeds and reconciliation | IncludedBank feeds with reconciliation on Pro and Business | IncludedConnect your bank; deposits matched to rent |
| Owner statements | IncludedOwner statement report; separate owner portal on Pro and Business | IncludedBuilt from the books |
| Tax reports such as Schedule E | IncludedTax reports on Pro and Business | IncludedSchedule E from the books |
| 1099 forms for vendorsIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not statedPrepares 1099-NEC PDFs, no e-file; plan not stated | Included1099-NEC report from the books |
| Budgets and budget vs actualIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedBudgets and budget vs actual |
| Bills read and coded automaticallyIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedAI reads invoices and codes each line |
| Pay vendors from the softwareIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedPay vendors from your own bank after your tap |
| QuickBooks connection | IncludedOne-way QuickBooks Online sync (US); integrations on Pro | IncludedSync with QuickBooks Online |
| Rent | ||
| Online rent collection | IncludedTenant pays ACH $1.95 on Starter, $1.50 on Pro | IncludedFree, straight to your own bank |
| Tenant autopay | IncludedTenant autopay on recurring charges, up to $10,000 | IncludedTenants authorize it once; rent comes from their bank on the due date, free |
| Automatic late fees | IncludedOne-time or daily late fees added after the grace period | IncludedPosted automatically within state caps |
| Tenant portal | IncludedTenant portal and separate tenant app | IncludedInvite link, nothing to install |
| Leasing | ||
| Listing page for every vacancyIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedA public page per vacant unit, with Apply and Schedule a showing |
| Listings on Zillow and more | IncludedFree to Realtor.com, Apartments.com; Zillow free under 25 units, else $30 | IncludedList on Zillow and more |
| Online rental applications | IncludedListings and applications on all plans | IncludedOnline applications by link |
| Tenant screening | IncludedTransUnion; paid by the applicant unless you cover it | IncludedOur exact cost, no markup |
| E-signed leasesIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not statedE-signature offered; plans not stated | IncludedBuilt in, no per-document fee |
| Lease renewalsIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedRenewal offers drafted for your approval |
| Maintenance | ||
| Maintenance requests and work orders | IncludedMaintenance management on all plans | IncludedRequests become work orders |
| Vendor dispatch | IncludedService pros find and take work orders | IncludedSend jobs to your vendors by link, no account |
| Move-in and move-out inspections | IncludedGrowth and up: 15 a year on Growth, 50 on Pro | IncludedMove-in and move-out checklists by link |
| AI and communication | ||
| Messages to tenants (email or text) | IncludedMessages with tenants; lead texts capped by plan | IncludedEmail to tenants and vendors |
| AI assistant | IncludedCloudia writes listing text, Pro and Business only | IncludedAsk in plain words; money steps wait for your tap |
| Works inside Claude and ChatGPTIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedConnects to the Claude or ChatGPT you already use |
| Ready-made automations | IncludedRecurring charges and automatic late fees | IncludedOne-toggle automations |
| Team, security and support | ||
| Team members and rolesIncluded with DoorKeeping | Higher planRoles and permissions on Business only | IncludedRoles for your team |
| Two-factor sign-in | IncludedAuthenticator app codes | IncludedAuthenticator app and recovery codes |
| Mobile app | IncludedSeparate landlord and tenant apps, iOS and Android | IncludediPhone and Android app |
| Document storage | IncludedStorage 1 GB on Starter, 10 GB on Growth, 25 GB on Pro | IncludedStore and share by expiring link |
| Support | IncludedHelp center, email and in-app chat; faster on higher plans | IncludedEmail support@doorkeeping.com |
| Onboarding and data importIncluded with DoorKeeping | Higher planData migration help for larger portfolios or Business | IncludedFree and self-serve; import your rent roll |
Every fee: TenantCloud and DoorKeeping
Everything TenantCloud publishes that an owner, a tenant or an applicant pays, next to DoorKeeping, read from TenantCloud's own pages (www.tenantcloud.com/pricing, www.tenantcloud.com/pricing/online-payments, support.tenantcloud.com/faq/question/905, www.tenantcloud.com/pricing/tenant-screening). "Not published" means it is not on TenantCloud's own site.
| Fee | TenantCloud | DoorKeeping |
|---|---|---|
| Software price | Starter $15, Growth $29.17, Pro $50 a month billed yearly ($18, $35, $60 billed monthly); Business from $100 a month (paid by the owner) | $2 per unit per month, every feature included (paid by the owner) |
| Minimum or contract | No minimum spend; plans cap leases at 10, 30 and 60 | None. No minimum and no contract |
| Setup or onboarding | Not published | None |
| Rent paid by bank (ACH) | $1.95 per payment on Starter, $1.75 on Growth, $1.50 on Pro; waived for tenants in $4.95 a month rent reporting (paid by the tenant) | Free. Tenants pay your own bank directly |
| Rent paid by card | Amount not published; payer covers card fees by default, landlord can pay them via support (owner or tenant pays) | 3% card fee, credit cards only; bank transfer stays free (paid by the tenant) |
| Tenant screening | Paid by the applicant (amount not published); landlord may choose to cover it | No markup: our exact cost. Paid by the applicant by default, or by you if you choose |
| E-signatures | Not published | Included, no per-document fee |
| Payouts to owners or vendors | Not published | None. DoorKeeping never holds your money and sends a payment only when you approve it |
| Other published fees | Tenant rent reporting $4.95 a month; prices exclude taxes (paid by the tenant) | None |
Sources
- TenantCloud, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
- TenantCloud, Rent collection, read Oct 29, 2026
- TenantCloud, Accounting, read Oct 29, 2026
- TenantCloud, Home page, read Oct 29, 2026
Questions
- How many leases does TenantCloud Starter allow?
- Ten, per TenantCloud's pricing page. Growth allows 30, Pro 60, and Business is custom. Every plan allows unlimited properties and units.
- Who pays TenantCloud's ACH fee?
- The tenant: $1.95 on Starter, $1.75 on Growth and $1.50 on Pro, per TenantCloud's pages. Its rent collection page says the fee is waived for tenants in its $4.95 a month rent reporting.
- Does DoorKeeping have plan limits?
- No. DoorKeeping is $2 per unit per month with every feature, and no caps on properties, LLCs or bank accounts.
- Is TenantCloud cheaper than DoorKeeping?
- At 60 units, yes: $600 a year on Pro against $1,440. At 12 units, DoorKeeping is $288 a year and TenantCloud Growth is $350.