Skip to main content

DoorKeeping vs TurboTenant for apartment owners

Every feature, $2 a unit

10 of our features are not included on TurboTenant Pro. One plan, no tenant fees, no minimum.

Tenants pay $0 to pay rent by bank transfer with DoorKeeping. A credit card payment carries a 3% card fee. Credit cards only. TurboTenant Pro also charges no bank fee. Paying by card adds 3.49% of the payment at TurboTenant.

  1. DoorKeepingOne plan, every feature$960
  2. TurboTenantPro, most features$699

Switch to DoorKeepingTry the demo

Example math from TurboTenant's own published prices, read Oct 30, 2026. Details below.

TurboTenant fits a landlord whose main job is filling vacancies: it markets listings, screens applicants, signs leases and collects rent, with a free plan and paid plans priced by unit count. DoorKeeping fits an owner of 5 or more apartment units who wants each property kept as its own business with its own books, run by asking Claude or ChatGPT, for $2 per unit per month, with e-signed leases, work orders and owner statements included. If you need listings and applicant screening in the same tool, TurboTenant has them.

The short answer

TurboTenant's home page describes two products: free self-management software and a full-service option called Autopilot. The self-management side covers the leasing cycle end to end: advertising a rental on what it calls "25+ sites", online applications, credit and background checks, state-specific leases with e-signing, and online rent with autopay and late fees. Its rent collection page speaks to owners of "one or 50 doors".

DoorKeeping starts from the other end. It assumes the units are already leased and the work that eats your week is the money: who paid, which property earned what, what goes on the tax return. You ask your AI app a question about your buildings, and anything that moves money or takes a legal step waits for your one-tap approval in the web app.

  • Pick TurboTenant if you turn over units often, want listings and screening built in today, and own a handful of doors.
  • Pick DoorKeeping if you own one or more apartment buildings, hold each in its own LLC, and want separate books per property without paying for tiers.
  • Some owners will want both for a while: TurboTenant to lease, DoorKeeping to run the books, until DoorKeeping's leasing tools arrive.

What each costs at 12 units and at 60 units

TurboTenant's pricing page lists a Free plan at $0 and two paid plans billed yearly, with the price set by a band of units rather than a rate per unit:

Units managedEssentials (yearly)Pro (yearly)
1 to 10$149$199
11 to 30$199$399
31 to 60$299$699
61 or more$349$999

Example a made-up owner with 12 units sits in the 11 to 30 band. TurboTenant costs $0 on Free, $199 a year on Essentials or $399 a year on Pro. DoorKeeping costs 12 units x $2 x 12 months = $288 a year.

Example a made-up owner with 60 units sits in the 31 to 60 band. TurboTenant costs $0 on Free, $299 a year on Essentials or $699 a year on Pro. DoorKeeping costs 60 units x $2 x 12 months = $1,440 a year.

On subscription price alone, TurboTenant is cheaper at both sizes, and much cheaper at 60 units. Two things narrow the gap. First, TurboTenant's rental accounting page prices accounting as a per-unit add-on (for example $60 a month for 10 units and $85 a month for 15 or more, after a half-price first two months) and says the Pro plan includes it, so an owner who wants full books should compare against Pro. Second, renters pay fees, covered next.

Who pays the payment and screening fees

TurboTenant is free or cheap for the landlord partly because renters pay some costs. Its pricing page lists, for renters of Pro landlords, a $45 screening fee, free bank transfers (ACH) and a 3.49% card fee; for renters of Free landlords, a $55 screening fee, a $2 ACH fee and the same 3.49% card fee. The rent collection page also states "$2 ACH, 3.49% credit/debit" as its convenience fees and says the card fee is paid by the tenant.

Example a made-up 12 unit building on TurboTenant's Free plan where every tenant pays $1,100 rent by bank transfer each month. Tenants pay 12 x 12 x $2 = $288 a year in ACH fees between them. A tenant who pays by card instead pays 3.49% of $1,100 = $38.39 that month.

DoorKeeping never holds rent. Tenants pay into your own bank account by bank transfer, or by Zelle where your bank supports it, and DoorKeeping charges them nothing for it. Each tenant gets a memo such as 12B SMITH and an exact amount with its own cents, so two $1,100 rents never look the same on your statement. Tenants never pay a fee to DoorKeeping. Screening is passed through at cost.

Features side by side

TurboTenant facts come from its own pages on the date checked. DoorKeeping statuses are what it does today.

FeatureTurboTenantDoorKeeping
Leases with e-signingYes, state-specificYes, leases and renewal offers
Online rentACH and card, paid through TurboTenant to your bankTenants pay your own bank directly, free from DoorKeeping
Books per propertyAccounting add-on or Pro; reports by unit, property or portfolioEvery property's LLC has its own ledger, bank account, deposits held and P&L
Schedule E reportListed on the accounting pageExpense accounts map to Schedule E lines
Run it by asking an AI appNot describedYes, through Claude or ChatGPT
Owner approval before money movesNot describedYes, one tap
Full-service managementAutopilot, price on a callNo

Where TurboTenant is stronger today

Fairly put, TurboTenant does more of the leasing job right now. It has listing syndication, applications with income verification and fraud detection on Pro, an AI lease audit, maintenance requests and in-app messaging. It also offers full-service management through Autopilot, and a one-time $1,500 tenant placement service, for owners who want to hand the work off. And its Free plan costs the landlord nothing, which DoorKeeping cannot match. If you lease single units one at a time and your books are simple, TurboTenant's free or Essentials plan is hard to beat on price.

Where DoorKeeping takes a different path

  • You run it from the AI app you already use. Ask Claude or ChatGPT "what did the Elm Street building net last month?" and get the answer from that property's own books.
  • Nothing with money or legal weight happens on its own. The AI drafts; you approve with one tap in the web app.
  • One price, every feature. $2 per unit per month, with no setup fee, no minimum, no tiers and no add-ons, so there is no plan to outgrow.
  • Rent goes straight to your bank. DoorKeeping never holds it and sends a payment only when you approve it.
  • One LLC, one set of books. Each property has its own ledger, bank account, deposits held and P&L, and you still see every property together.

See the pricing page for the full price, or how the AI connection works.

A quick way to choose

  1. Count how many leases you sign a year. If it is most of your units, leasing tools matter most, and TurboTenant has them today.
  2. Count your LLCs. If each building is its own company, separate books per property matter most, and that is how DoorKeeping is built.
  3. Add renter fees to the subscription. A cheap plan where tenants pay per payment is still a cost to someone.
  4. Try the DoorKeeping demo with your own questions before you decide.

Why switch from TurboTenant

  • Tenants pay $0 to pay rent by bank transfer. A credit card payment carries a 3% card fee. Credit cards only. At TurboTenant: $2 per payment for renters of Free-plan landlords; free for renters of Pro landlords; 3.49% of the payment.
  • Every feature on one plan. On TurboTenant's Pro plan, full accounting (ledger, p&l, balance sheet), bank feeds and reconciliation, tax reports such as schedule e, vendor dispatch and more need a higher plan or cost extra.
  • Run your buildings from the Claude or ChatGPT you already use; money and legal steps wait for your one-tap approval.
  • Rent goes straight to your own bank. DoorKeeping never holds your money.

Switch to DoorKeeping

What one year costs: TurboTenant and DoorKeeping

Example math, not a quote: TurboTenant's Pro plan, billed the cheapest published way, plus the published fee for a tenant paying rent by bank 12 times a year per unit. Accounting is only on Pro. Pro is billed yearly by unit band: $199 for 1 to 10 units, $699 for 31 to 60, $999 for 61 or more. ACH fee is waived on Pro (about $2 a payment to the tenant on lower plans).

TurboTenant (Pro)DoorKeeping
10 unitsPro$199No bank feesLess than DoorKeeping$240No other fees
40 unitsPro$699No bank feesLess than DoorKeeping$960No other fees
100 unitsPro$999No bank feesLess than DoorKeeping$2,400No other fees

Feature by feature: TurboTenant and DoorKeeping

22 of 32 features are included on the plan above at TurboTenant, and 32 at DoorKeeping. Read from TurboTenant's own pages on Oct 30, 2026; "Not stated" means we could not find it on TurboTenant's own site.

TurboTenant (Pro)DoorKeeping
Accounting
Full accounting (ledger, P&L, balance sheet)IncludedFull accounting suite on Pro only (P&L, balance sheet, cash flow)IncludedSeparate books for each property, rolled up
Bank feeds and reconciliationIncludedAutomatic bank import and reconciliation on Pro; manual import on EssentialsIncludedConnect your bank; deposits matched to rent
Owner statementsIncluded with DoorKeepingNoNo owner reports or owner portalIncludedBuilt from the books
Tax reports such as Schedule EIncludedSchedule E and Form 8825 on Pro onlyIncludedSchedule E from the books
1099 forms for vendorsIncluded with DoorKeepingNoTracks vendor totals; does not create or file 1099sIncluded1099-NEC report from the books
Budgets and budget vs actualIncluded with DoorKeepingNoNo budgeting or pro forma statementsIncludedBudgets and budget vs actual
Bills read and coded automaticallyIncluded with DoorKeepingNot statedIncludedAI reads invoices and codes each line
Pay vendors from the softwareIncluded with DoorKeepingNoFinances does not move money or pay billsIncludedPay vendors from your own bank after your tap
QuickBooks connectionIncluded with DoorKeepingNoNot directly integrated with QuickBooksIncludedSync with QuickBooks Online
Rent
Online rent collectionIncludedAll plans; tenant pays about $2 per ACH payment unless ProIncludedFree, straight to your own bank
Tenant autopayIncludedTenants turn on autopay in the renter portalIncludedTenants authorize it once; rent comes from their bank on the due date, free
Automatic late feesIncludedAutomatic late fees on recurring rent chargesIncludedPosted automatically within state caps
Tenant portalIncludedRenter portal and free renter appIncludedInvite link, nothing to install
Leasing
Listing page for every vacancyIncluded with DoorKeepingNot statedIncludedA public page per vacant unit, with Apply and Schedule a showing
Listings on Zillow and moreIncludedAbout 26 sites such as Apartments.com and Realtor.com; not Zillow directlyIncludedList on Zillow and more
Online rental applicationsIncludedOnline applications on all plans, including FreeIncludedOnline applications by link
Tenant screeningIncludedVia TransUnion; applicant pays $45 on Essentials, $55 on FreeIncludedOur exact cost, no markup
E-signed leasesIncludedEssentials and Pro; not on FreeIncludedBuilt in, no per-document fee
Lease renewalsIncludedCopy the old lease into a new term; Essentials or ProIncludedRenewal offers drafted for your approval
Maintenance
Maintenance requests and work ordersIncludedMaintenance requests on all plansIncludedRequests become work orders
Vendor dispatchIncluded with DoorKeepingAdd-onVendor coordination only through Autopilot managed service, price on callIncludedSend jobs to your vendors by link, no account
Move-in and move-out inspectionsIncludedMove-in and move-out condition reports on all plansIncludedMove-in and move-out checklists by link
AI and communication
Messages to tenants (email or text)IncludedIn-app and group messages; text and email alerts for new messagesIncludedEmail to tenants and vendors
AI assistantIncludedMaintenance AI helps tenants triage repairs, no extra chargeIncludedAsk in plain words; money steps wait for your tap
Works inside Claude and ChatGPTIncluded with DoorKeepingNot statedIncludedConnects to the Claude or ChatGPT you already use
Ready-made automationsIncludedAutomatic late fees; transaction rules on ProIncludedOne-toggle automations
Team, security and support
Team members and rolesIncludedUser roles and permissions on Pro onlyIncludedRoles for your team
Two-factor sign-inIncludedText message codes; authenticator apps not supportedIncludedAuthenticator app and recovery codes
Mobile appIncludedFree landlord app on iOS and AndroidIncludediPhone and Android app
Document storageIncludedDocuments tab per property, files under 20MBIncludedStore and share by expiring link
SupportIncludedAI chat 24/7; chat and email daily 8 to 4 MT; phone on paid plansIncludedEmail support@doorkeeping.com
Onboarding and data importIncluded with DoorKeepingNoNo data import from other software; you add everything by handIncludedFree and self-serve; import your rent roll

Every fee: TurboTenant and DoorKeeping

Everything TurboTenant publishes that an owner, a tenant or an applicant pays, next to DoorKeeping, read from TurboTenant's own pages (www.turbotenant.com/pricing/, www.turbotenant.com/rental-accounting/). "Not published" means it is not on TurboTenant's own site.

FeeTurboTenantDoorKeeping
Software priceFree $0; Essentials $149 to $349 a year and Pro $199 to $999 a year, set by unit band (1 to 10, 11 to 30, 31 to 60, 61+) (paid by the owner)$2 per unit per month, every feature included (paid by the owner)
Minimum or contractNone; paid plans billed yearly, Free plan has no contract (paid by the owner)None. No minimum and no contract
Setup or onboardingNot publishedNone
Rent paid by bank (ACH)$2 per payment for renters of Free-plan landlords; free for renters of Pro landlords (paid by the tenant)Free. Tenants pay your own bank directly
Rent paid by card3.49% of the payment (paid by the tenant)3% card fee, credit cards only; bank transfer stays free (paid by the tenant)
Tenant screening$55 per applicant on the Free plan; $45 for renters of Pro landlords (paid by the applicant)No markup: our exact cost. Paid by the applicant by default, or by you if you choose
E-signaturesNo fee published; pricing page lists Unlimited E-SignaturesIncluded, no per-document fee
Payouts to owners or vendorsNot publishedNone. DoorKeeping never holds your money and sends a payment only when you approve it
Other published feesAccounting add-on $15 a month for the first unit and $5 for each additional, up to $85 a month (included in Pro); Landlord Forms Pack $199 on Free (included on paid plans); renter rent reporting $4.99 a month (opt-in); renters insurance from $11 a month (optional); standalone tenant placement $1,500 flat (owner or tenant pays)None

Sources

  1. TurboTenant, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
  2. TurboTenant, Online rent collection, read Oct 29, 2026
  3. TurboTenant, Rental accounting, read Oct 29, 2026
  4. TurboTenant, Home page and feature list, read Oct 29, 2026

Questions

Is TurboTenant free for landlords?
TurboTenant has a Free plan at $0 for the landlord. Its pricing page lists fees renters pay on that plan: $55 for screening, $2 per bank transfer and 3.49% per card payment.
Is DoorKeeping cheaper than TurboTenant?
Not on subscription price. At 60 units DoorKeeping is $1,440 a year and TurboTenant Pro is $699. DoorKeeping charges tenants nothing to pay rent and includes every feature in the one price.
Can DoorKeeping send the lease once I find a tenant?
Yes. DoorKeeping sends the lease for e-signature and invites the tenant to the portal by link. Many owners post the vacancy and screen applicants with a leasing tool, then run the lease, rent and books in DoorKeeping.