DoorKeeping vs Yardi Breeze: $1 with a minimum, or $2 without
Save $3,840 a year
against Yardi Breeze Breeze Premier at 40 units, software and tenant fees together.
Tenants pay $0 to pay rent by bank transfer with DoorKeeping. A credit card payment carries a 3% card fee. Credit cards only. Yardi Breeze Breeze Premier also charges no bank fee. Paying by card adds credit cards 2.95% at Yardi Breeze.
Switch to DoorKeepingTry the demo
Example math from Yardi Breeze's own published prices, read Oct 30, 2026. Details below.
Yardi Breeze lists $1 per unit per month for residential properties, with a $100 monthly minimum on an annual agreement and no onboarding fees. That makes Breeze cheaper than DoorKeeping above 50 units, and DoorKeeping cheaper below 50. Breeze also has leasing, rent collection, accounts payable and maintenance working today, while DoorKeeping, at $2 per unit with no minimum, is built around AI and owner approvals, with per-LLC books, e-signed leases, work orders and owner statements included.
Where the prices cross
Yardi's pricing page shows two residential plans. Breeze is $1 per unit per month with a $100 minimum per month, based on an annual agreement. Breeze Premier is also listed at $1 per unit per month with "terms and minimums apply" and a $400 minimum per month on an annual agreement. The residential section says there are no onboarding, training or support fees.
With a $100 floor, Breeze costs $100 a month for anyone up to 100 units. DoorKeeping costs $2 per unit with no floor. The two meet at 50 units, where DoorKeeping is 50 x $2 = $100 too.
| Units | Yardi Breeze | Yardi Breeze Premier | DoorKeeping |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 | $100 (minimum) | $400 (minimum) | $20 |
| 24 | $100 (minimum) | $400 (minimum) | $48 |
| 50 | $100 | $400 (minimum) | $100 |
| 120 | 120 x $1 = $120 | $400 (minimum) | $240 |
Example a made-up owner with 24 units pays Breeze its $100 minimum each month, $1,200 for the annual agreement. DoorKeeping costs 24 x $2 = $48 a month, $576 a year, with no annual commitment.
Example a made-up owner with 120 units pays Breeze 120 x $1 = $120 a month, $1,440 a year. DoorKeeping costs $240 a month, $2,880 a year, so Breeze is $1,440 a year less at this size.
Optional Yardi add-ons such as ScreeningWorks Pro, Bill Pay for Breeze and an AI-powered chatbot are priced separately, and those prices are not on the pricing page.
What Breeze includes
For the base Breeze plan, Yardi lists:
- Marketing and leasing: listings on sites including RentCafe.com, online applications and leases, and text or email to prospects.
- Rent collection: online payments by debit, credit card and ACH, cash at participating retailers, recurring charges and delinquency tools.
- Accounting: payables, receivables, the general ledger, escrow and trust accounts, and 1099 preparation for e-filing.
- Accounts payable: vendors, invoices, recurring payables, and payment by check or EFT.
- Owner tools: owner onboarding, fractional ownership and pro rata statements.
- Maintenance: online requests, photos and video, vendor assignment and automatic tenant billing for work.
- Renters insurance, on-screen tutorials and live chat support.
Breeze Premier adds a CRM follow-up queue, state-based online lease execution, move-in and move-out workflows, property websites, approval workflows for payables, job cost tracking and customizable financial statements.
Feature grid
| Feature | Yardi Breeze | DoorKeeping today |
|---|---|---|
| General ledger and property accounting | Yes | Yes, one set of books per property LLC |
| Online rent payments | Yes, debit, credit, ACH and cash at retailers | Tenants pay your bank by transfer or Zelle; DoorKeeping never holds rent |
| Online lease signing | Premier | Yes, every account |
| Maintenance requests and vendors | Yes | Yes, work orders sent to vendors by link |
| 1099s | Yes, prepared for e-filing | The 1099-NEC report from the books |
| Owner statements | Yes | Yes, from each property's books |
| AI | AI-powered chatbot add-on | Runs in your Claude or ChatGPT, every account |
| Approval before money or legal steps | Approval workflows for payables (Premier) | Yes, every money or legal step |
| Contract | Annual agreement | Monthly, no minimum |
What Breeze does better
At 100 units and up, Breeze is cheaper per unit, and the gap grows with size. It is also further along: rent collection with cards and cash, listings, maintenance with automatic tenant billing, 1099 preparation, owner statements and trust accounts are all in the base plan today. Yardi's home page presents Breeze as cloud software for residential, commercial, affordable, self storage, association and manufactured housing portfolios. If you manage for outside owners or need trust accounting, Breeze covers it.
The case for DoorKeeping
- Small portfolios pay for what they own. A 10-unit owner pays $20 a month, not a $100 minimum, and there is no annual agreement.
- AI is the main way in, not an add-on. You ask Claude or ChatGPT for the rent roll, who is late or a property's NOI, and the answer comes from your books.
- Nothing with money or legal weight happens without your one-tap approval.
- Each LLC has its own books, and expense accounts follow the Schedule E lines your tax preparer uses.
Switching from Yardi Breeze
Breeze is sold on an annual agreement, so the cleanest time to move is at renewal. Check your agreement's end date and notice terms first.
- Ninety days before renewal, export each property's ledger, rent roll and deposits held.
- Set up DoorKeeping with each LLC, its units and leases, and opening balances as of your last month in Breeze.
- Send tenants their new payment details: your LLC's bank, their memo and exact amount.
- Stop online payments in Breeze after the final rent cycle there.
Why switch from Yardi Breeze
- Lower cost: about $3,840 a year less than Yardi Breeze Breeze Premier at 40 units, from the published prices above.
- Tenants pay $0 to pay rent by bank transfer. A credit card payment carries a 3% card fee. Credit cards only. At Yardi Breeze: Credit cards 2.95%; signature debit $3.95 (under $1,000), $4.95 ($1,000 to $1,999), $9.95 ($2,000 and up); tenant pays by default, landlord can choose to cover.
- No minimum and no contract. At Yardi Breeze: $100 a month (Breeze) or $400 a month (Breeze Premier), one-year agreement that renews automatically.
- Every feature on one plan. On Yardi Breeze's Breeze plan, bank feeds and reconciliation, bills read and coded automatically, tenant screening, e-signed leases and more need a higher plan or cost extra.
- Run your buildings from the Claude or ChatGPT you already use; money and legal steps wait for your one-tap approval.
What one year costs: Yardi Breeze and DoorKeeping
Example math, not a quote: Yardi Breeze's Breeze plan and its Breeze Premier plan with the most features, billed the cheapest published way, plus the published fee for a tenant paying rent by bank 12 times a year per unit. Breeze at $1 per unit a month with a $100 monthly minimum, annual agreement: 10, 40 and 100 units all fall under the minimum, so $100 x 12 = $1,200. ACH is $0 when Yardi is the main processor with cards on, otherwise $0.95 a payment.
| Yardi Breeze (Breeze) | DoorKeeping | |
|---|---|---|
| 10 unitsBreeze | $1,200No bank fees5.0x DoorKeeping | $240No other fees |
| 40 unitsBreeze | $1,200No bank fees1.3x DoorKeeping | $960No other fees |
| 100 unitsBreeze | $1,200No bank feesLess than DoorKeeping | $2,400No other fees |
| 10 unitsBreeze Premier, most features | $4,800No bank fees20.0x DoorKeeping | $240No other fees |
| 40 unitsBreeze Premier, most features | $4,800No bank fees5.0x DoorKeeping | $960No other fees |
| 100 unitsBreeze Premier, most features | $4,800No bank fees2.0x DoorKeeping | $2,400No other fees |
Feature by feature: Yardi Breeze and DoorKeeping
22 of 32 features are included on the plan above at Yardi Breeze, and 32 at DoorKeeping. Read from Yardi Breeze's own pages on Oct 30, 2026; "Not stated" means we could not find it on Yardi Breeze's own site.
| Yardi Breeze (Breeze) | DoorKeeping | |
|---|---|---|
| Accounting | ||
| Full accounting (ledger, P&L, balance sheet) | IncludedPayables, receivables, general ledger and financial statements | IncludedSeparate books for each property, rolled up |
| Bank feeds and reconciliationIncluded with DoorKeeping | Higher planBank transaction feed on Breeze Premier only | IncludedConnect your bank; deposits matched to rent |
| Owner statements | IncludedOwner statements and report packets by email or portal | IncludedBuilt from the books |
| Tax reports such as Schedule EIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedSchedule E from the books |
| 1099 forms for vendors | IncludedPrepare and e-file 1099s | Included1099-NEC report from the books |
| Budgets and budget vs actual | IncludedTrack budgets and spot problem areas | IncludedBudgets and budget vs actual |
| Bills read and coded automaticallyIncluded with DoorKeeping | Higher planPremier only: outsourced invoice scanning and data entry | IncludedAI reads invoices and codes each line |
| Pay vendors from the software | IncludedYardi Bill Pay by ACH or check, $1.00 a payment | IncludedPay vendors from your own bank after your tap |
| QuickBooks connectionIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedSync with QuickBooks Online |
| Rent | ||
| Online rent collection | IncludedACH, debit and credit card through RentCafe | IncludedFree, straight to your own bank |
| Tenant autopay | IncludedResidents set up autopay in the RentCafe app | IncludedTenants authorize it once; rent comes from their bank on the due date, free |
| Automatic late fees | IncludedLate fee setup per tenant, copied in bulk | IncludedPosted automatically within state caps |
| Tenant portal | IncludedRentCafe resident portal and app | IncludedInvite link, nothing to install |
| Leasing | ||
| Listing page for every vacancyIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedA public page per vacant unit, with Apply and Schedule a showing |
| Listings on Zillow and more | IncludedListing sites including RentCafe.com; Zillow not named | IncludedList on Zillow and more |
| Online rental applications | IncludedOnline applications | IncludedOnline applications by link |
| Tenant screeningIncluded with DoorKeeping | Add-onScreeningWorks Pro, $18 a screen | IncludedOur exact cost, no markup |
| E-signed leasesIncluded with DoorKeeping | Higher planE-signed state leases on Premier; renewals signable in resident app | IncludedBuilt in, no per-document fee |
| Lease renewals | IncludedRenewals built in; residents sign them in the app | IncludedRenewal offers drafted for your approval |
| Maintenance | ||
| Maintenance requests and work orders | IncludedOnline maintenance requests and work orders | IncludedRequests become work orders |
| Vendor dispatch | IncludedAssign tasks to vendors; no vendor portal named | IncludedSend jobs to your vendors by link, no account |
| Move-in and move-out inspections | IncludedInspections with photos on Breeze and Premier | IncludedMove-in and move-out checklists by link |
| AI and communication | ||
| Messages to tenants (email or text) | IncludedText and email with prospects and residents | IncludedEmail to tenants and vendors |
| AI assistantIncluded with DoorKeeping | Add-onChat IQ AI is a Premier add-on (price not published) | IncludedAsk in plain words; money steps wait for your tap |
| Works inside Claude and ChatGPTIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedConnects to the Claude or ChatGPT you already use |
| Ready-made automations | IncludedRecurring postings and workflows; move-in and move-out workflows on Premier | IncludedOne-toggle automations |
| Team, security and support | ||
| Team members and roles | IncludedLimit access by staff or property; full roles on Premier | IncludedRoles for your team |
| Two-factor sign-inIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedAuthenticator app and recovery codes |
| Mobile app | IncludedYardi Breeze app for maintenance and labor tracking | IncludediPhone and Android app |
| Document storage | IncludedAttach documents and invoices to records | IncludedStore and share by expiring link |
| Support | IncludedLive chat Mon to Fri 7am to 7pm CT; 8 free setup phone hours, then billable | IncludedEmail support@doorkeeping.com |
| Onboarding and data import | IncludedNo onboarding, training or data conversion fees | IncludedFree and self-serve; import your rent roll |
Every fee: Yardi Breeze and DoorKeeping
Everything Yardi Breeze publishes that an owner, a tenant or an applicant pays, next to DoorKeeping, read from Yardi Breeze's own pages (www.yardibreeze.com/pricing/, resources.yardi.com/legal/breeze/tou/). "Not published" means it is not on Yardi Breeze's own site.
| Fee | Yardi Breeze | DoorKeeping |
|---|---|---|
| Software price | Residential: $1 per unit per month on Breeze and on Breeze Premier (paid by the owner) | $2 per unit per month, every feature included (paid by the owner) |
| Minimum or contract | $100 a month (Breeze) or $400 a month (Breeze Premier), one-year agreement that renews automatically (paid by the owner) | None. No minimum and no contract |
| Setup or onboarding | Free: no onboarding, training or support fees | None |
| Rent paid by bank (ACH) | $0.00 when Yardi is the primary processor and card payments are turned on; otherwise $0.95 per payment (paid by the owner) | Free. Tenants pay your own bank directly |
| Rent paid by card | Credit cards 2.95%; signature debit $3.95 (under $1,000), $4.95 ($1,000 to $1,999), $9.95 ($2,000 and up); tenant pays by default, landlord can choose to cover | 3% card fee, credit cards only; bank transfer stays free (paid by the tenant) |
| Tenant screening | ScreeningWorks $18 per screen (Premium) or $25 (Premium Plus); $9 more for a supplemental criminal search in 12 states (paid by the owner) | No markup: our exact cost. Paid by the applicant by default, or by you if you choose |
| E-signatures | Not published | Included, no per-document fee |
| Payouts to owners or vendors | Yardi Bill Pay $1.00 per payment (ACH or check); Bill Pay Express $0.40 per payment (paid by the owner) | None. DoorKeeping never holds your money and sends a payment only when you approve it |
| Other published fees | Chargebacks and retrievals $25 each; Check21 adjustments $45 each; phone support beyond 8 free hours $120 an hour; add-ons such as RentCafe websites and the chatbot unpriced (paid by the owner) | None |
Sources
- Yardi Breeze, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
- Yardi Breeze, home page, read Oct 29, 2026
- DoorKeeping, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
Questions
- How much does Yardi Breeze cost per unit?
- For residential properties, Yardi lists Breeze at $1 per unit per month with a $100 monthly minimum, based on an annual agreement. Breeze Premier is listed at $1 per unit with terms and minimums applying and a $400 monthly minimum.
- Does Yardi Breeze charge an onboarding fee?
- Its pricing page says there are no onboarding, training or support fees for residential portfolios.
- Is Yardi Breeze cheaper than DoorKeeping?
- Above 50 units, yes: Breeze is $1 per unit against DoorKeeping's $2. Below 50 units, Breeze's $100 minimum makes DoorKeeping the lower price, and DoorKeeping has no annual agreement.