DoorKeeping vs Innago: free for landlords, or free for tenants
Every feature, $2 a unit
12 of our features are not included on Innago Free. One plan, no tenant fees, no minimum.
Your tenants save $960 a year in rent payment fees: $0 with DoorKeeping, $2 per bank payment at Innago (you can choose to pay it instead). Paying by card adds 2.99% of the payment at Innago.
Switch to DoorKeepingTry the demo
Example math from Innago's own published prices, read Oct 30, 2026. Details below.
Innago charges landlords nothing: its pricing page says no monthly fee, no setup fee and no contract, and its help center says tenants pay $2 per ACH payment and 2.99% per card payment by default. DoorKeeping charges the owner $2 per unit per month and tenants nothing, because rent goes straight to the owner's bank. Innago fits a landlord who wants free leasing and rent tools; DoorKeeping fits an apartment owner who wants books per LLC and an AI to run them.
How Innago is free
Innago's pricing page states "No monthly fee. No setup fee. No contract." Its help center article, How much does Innago cost?, explains where its revenue comes from: "ACH payments incur a $2 fee" and "Credit / Debit Card payments incur a 2.99% fee", and "both are paid by your tenant by default, but you can choose to take on either." Applicants you screen pay about $30 to $35 for the report.
That is a clear and common model. It just moves the cost from the landlord to the tenant, so it is worth putting a number on it before you compare.
The money, worked out for 12 and 60 units
Assume every tenant pays rent once a month by bank transfer, the cheaper option on Innago.
| Made-up owner | Innago, paid by owner | Innago ACH fees, paid by tenants | DoorKeeping, paid by owner | DoorKeeping, paid by tenants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 units | $0 | 12 x 12 x $2 = $288 a year | 12 x $2 x 12 = $288 a year | $0 |
| 60 units | $0 | 60 x 12 x $2 = $1,440 a year | 60 x $2 x 12 = $1,440 a year | $0 |
In this made-up case the totals match exactly: the same $2 per unit per month is paid either way. The difference is who pays it. On Innago, tenants pay unless you choose to absorb the fee; on DoorKeeping, the owner pays and tenants do not.
Example a made-up tenant on Innago pays $1,050 rent by debit card. The fee is 2.99% x $1,050 = $31.40 that month, or $376.80 over a year of card payments. The same tenant paying by bank transfer pays $2 a month, $24 a year.
If you would absorb Innago's ACH fee yourself to keep tenants happy, the 60 unit owner pays $1,440 a year on Innago, the same as DoorKeeping. If you pass it on, Innago is free to you.
Feature check
Innago's own pages list online rent collection with late fees, lease templates with e-signing, tenant screening for criminal, eviction and credit history, listings sent to sites such as Zillow and Realtor.com, maintenance work orders, and income and expense tracking with receipt uploads in its mobile app. For deeper bookkeeping, its lease signing article points to a partner, Ledgre.
| Feature | Innago | DoorKeeping |
|---|---|---|
| Price to the owner | $0 | $2 per unit per month, every feature |
| Rent payment fees | Tenant pays by default: $2 ACH, 2.99% card | None; tenants pay your bank directly |
| Lease e-signing | Yes | Yes, leases and renewal offers |
| Maintenance work orders | Yes | Yes, sent to vendors by link |
| Bookkeeping | Income and expense tracking; partner for full books | Books per LLC: ledger, bank account, deposits held, P&L |
| Schedule E mapping | Not described | Expense accounts map to Schedule E lines |
| Run it from Claude or ChatGPT | Not described | Yes |
Where Innago comes out ahead
For a landlord who wants to spend nothing, Innago is the obvious pick of the two. It has screening, listings, lease templates and e-signing, maintenance work orders and a landlord and tenant mobile app. Tenants who want to pay by card can. Its lease signing article states "There are no tiers, paywalls, or hidden fees", so a small owner does not have to choose a plan either.
When DoorKeeping is the better fit
DoorKeeping is aimed at a different owner: someone with 5 to a few hundred apartment units, each building in its own LLC, who wants the business run well more than they want free software.
- Accounting is the core, not an add-on. Every property keeps its own ledger, bank account, security deposits held and P&L, and you see the whole portfolio together.
- You manage by asking Claude or ChatGPT, which DoorKeeping connects to, instead of clicking through screens.
- Approvals protect you: the AI can draft, but money and legal steps wait for one tap from you.
- Your tenants pay nothing extra. Rent goes from their bank to yours, by transfer or by Zelle where your bank supports it, with a memo like 12B SMITH and an exact amount with its own cents.
- DoorKeeping never holds rent and sends a payment only when you approve it, so there is no payout to wait for.
Try your own questions in the demo, or read how the AI connection works.
Why switch from Innago
- Tenants pay $0 to pay rent by bank transfer. A credit card payment carries a 3% card fee. Credit cards only. At Innago: $2 per payment; tenant pays by default, landlord can absorb it; 2.99% of the payment; tenant pays by default, landlord can absorb it.
- Run your buildings from the Claude or ChatGPT you already use; money and legal steps wait for your one-tap approval.
- Rent goes straight to your own bank. DoorKeeping never holds your money.
What one year costs: Innago and DoorKeeping
Example math, not a quote: Innago's Free plan, billed the cheapest published way, plus the published fee for a tenant paying rent by bank 12 times a year per unit. No plan with full accounting (balance sheet) is stated, so the free product with online rent is used: $0 at any size. Tenants pay $2 per ACH payment by default; the landlord can absorb it.
| Innago (Free) | DoorKeeping | |
|---|---|---|
| 10 unitsFree | $240$0 software + $240 tenant bank feesSame as DoorKeeping | $240No other fees |
| 40 unitsFree | $960$0 software + $960 tenant bank feesSame as DoorKeeping | $960No other fees |
| 100 unitsFree | $2,400$0 software + $2,400 tenant bank feesSame as DoorKeeping | $2,400No other fees |
Feature by feature: Innago and DoorKeeping
20 of 32 features are included on the plan above at Innago, and 32 at DoorKeeping. Read from Innago's own pages on Oct 30, 2026; "Not stated" means we could not find it on Innago's own site.
| Innago (Free) | DoorKeeping | |
|---|---|---|
| Accounting | ||
| Full accounting (ledger, P&L, balance sheet)Included with DoorKeeping | Not statedIncome, expenses and P&L; no balance sheet stated | IncludedSeparate books for each property, rolled up |
| Bank feeds and reconciliationIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedConnect your bank; deposits matched to rent |
| Owner statementsIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedBuilt from the books |
| Tax reports such as Schedule EIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedSchedule E from the books |
| 1099 forms for vendorsIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | Included1099-NEC report from the books |
| Budgets and budget vs actualIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedBudgets and budget vs actual |
| Bills read and coded automaticallyIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedAI reads invoices and codes each line |
| Pay vendors from the softwareIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedPay vendors from your own bank after your tap |
| QuickBooks connection | IncludedRecords payments, invoices and expenses in QuickBooks Online | IncludedSync with QuickBooks Online |
| Rent | ||
| Online rent collection | IncludedFree for landlords; tenant pays $2 per ACH by default | IncludedFree, straight to your own bank |
| Tenant autopay | IncludedTenants schedule automatic payments in the portal | IncludedTenants authorize it once; rent comes from their bank on the due date, free |
| Automatic late fees | IncludedApplies late fees and notifies the tenant automatically | IncludedPosted automatically within state caps |
| Tenant portal | IncludedTenant portal and mobile app | IncludedInvite link, nothing to install |
| Leasing | ||
| Listing page for every vacancyIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedA public page per vacant unit, with Apply and Schedule a showing |
| Listings on Zillow and more | IncludedFree syndication to Zumper, PadMapper and more; Zillow not named | IncludedList on Zillow and more |
| Online rental applications | IncludedApplications from listings | IncludedOnline applications by link |
| Tenant screening | Included$30 to $35, paid by the applicant by default | IncludedOur exact cost, no markup |
| E-signed leases | IncludedBuilt-in e-signature for leases, no fee | IncludedBuilt in, no per-document fee |
| Lease renewalsIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedRenewal offers drafted for your approval |
| Maintenance | ||
| Maintenance requests and work orders | IncludedMaintenance requests and work orders with cost tracking | IncludedRequests become work orders |
| Vendor dispatch | IncludedForward requests to vendors; Latchel finds pros | IncludedSend jobs to your vendors by link, no account |
| Move-in and move-out inspections | IncludedMove-in and move-out checklists tenants sign | IncludedMove-in and move-out checklists by link |
| AI and communication | ||
| Messages to tenants (email or text) | IncludedIn-app messages with tenants | IncludedEmail to tenants and vendors |
| AI assistantIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedAsk in plain words; money steps wait for your tap |
| Works inside Claude and ChatGPTIncluded with DoorKeeping | Not stated | IncludedConnects to the Claude or ChatGPT you already use |
| Ready-made automations | IncludedAutomatic late fees and rent reminders | IncludedOne-toggle automations |
| Team, security and support | ||
| Team members and roles | IncludedTeam members, co-owners or managers with access controls | IncludedRoles for your team |
| Two-factor sign-in | IncludedAdaptive multi-factor sign-in through Auth0 | IncludedAuthenticator app and recovery codes |
| Mobile app | IncludediOS and Android app | IncludediPhone and Android app |
| Document storage | IncludedSigned leases stored in the account | IncludedStore and share by expiring link |
| Support | IncludedPhone, email and live chat, weekdays 9 to 5 Eastern | IncludedEmail support@doorkeeping.com |
| Onboarding and data import | IncludedOne-on-one onboarding demo on request; no import stated | IncludedFree and self-serve; import your rent roll |
Every fee: Innago and DoorKeeping
Everything Innago publishes that an owner, a tenant or an applicant pays, next to DoorKeeping, read from Innago's own pages (help.innago.com/?p=601, innago.com/pricing/, innago.com/5-best-lease-signing-software/). "Not published" means it is not on Innago's own site.
| Fee | Innago | DoorKeeping |
|---|---|---|
| Software price | Free for landlords: no monthly, yearly or setup fee | $2 per unit per month, every feature included (paid by the owner) |
| Minimum or contract | None; no contract | None. No minimum and no contract |
| Setup or onboarding | Free | None |
| Rent paid by bank (ACH) | $2 per payment; tenant pays by default, landlord can absorb it | Free. Tenants pay your own bank directly |
| Rent paid by card | 2.99% of the payment; tenant pays by default, landlord can absorb it | 3% card fee, credit cards only; bank transfer stays free (paid by the tenant) |
| Tenant screening | $30 to $35 per applicant (paid by the applicant) | No markup: our exact cost. Paid by the applicant by default, or by you if you choose |
| E-signatures | Free for landlords | Included, no per-document fee |
| Payouts to owners or vendors | Not published | None. DoorKeeping never holds your money and sends a payment only when you approve it |
| Other published fees | Not published | None |
Sources
- Innago, Pricing, read Oct 29, 2026
- Innago Help Center, How much does Innago cost?, read Oct 29, 2026
- Innago, Lease signing software (blog, lists Innago features), read Oct 29, 2026
- Innago, Landlord and tenant app on the App Store, read Oct 29, 2026
Questions
- Is Innago really free?
- For landlords, yes: its pricing page says no monthly fee, no setup fee and no contract. Tenants pay $2 per ACH payment and 2.99% per card payment by default, and applicants pay about $30 to $35 for screening.
- Can a landlord pay Innago's fees instead of the tenant?
- Yes. Innago's help center says the fees are paid by the tenant by default, but the landlord can choose to take on either.
- Why does DoorKeeping charge when Innago is free?
- DoorKeeping charges the owner instead of the tenant: $2 per unit per month, with nothing added to rent payments. It includes books per LLC and AI-run operations with approvals.