DoorKeeping vs Azibo: a free platform against a flat price per unit
Azibo lists its platform monthly fee as "None", with unlimited properties and units, free bank rent for owners and renters, a 2.99% convenience fee when a renter pays by card, $39.99 credit and background checks charged to the applicant, and a $29.99 state-specific lease with e-sign. DoorKeeping costs $2 per unit per month with every feature included and nothing to buy per lease. If you only need to collect rent and sign a lease now and then, Azibo's listed price is lower. If you want the books, bill coding and follow-up done by asking Claude or ChatGPT, DoorKeeping is built for that.
What does Azibo list on its pricing page?
Azibo's pricing page is a feature table, not a set of tiers. Its platform monthly fee reads "None", properties, units and portfolios are "Unlimited", and bank (ACH) rent is free for owners and renters. Phone and email support are listed as free.
| Item | Published price | Who pays |
|---|---|---|
| State-specific lease with e-sign | $29.99 | Not stated |
| Credit and background checks | $39.99 | Applicant |
| Card rent | 2.99% convenience fee | Renter |
| Collaborate (team access) | $99 per seat per year | Not stated |
| Premium onboarding | $300 for up to 100 units | Not stated |
| Azibo Banking wires | $25 | Not stated |
The page contains two versions of some details (partial-payment fees, for one), so confirm anything that matters to you directly with Azibo.
What does a year cost for a small owner?
With the platform fee at zero, a small owner's Azibo bill is the things bought per use. A made-up 10-unit owner with four lease signings and the applicant paying for screening would pay the lease fee four times.
Example a made-up owner with 10 units signs 4 leases a year at $29.99, so 4 x $29.99 = $119.96, with applicants paying the $39.99 screening. The same owner at DoorKeeping pays 10 x $2 x 12 = $240 a year, with e-signed leases included and screening at DoorKeeping's exact cost, paid by the applicant by default.
At low lease turnover Azibo's listed total is smaller. As turnover rises, or when you add team seats at $99 each per year, the gap narrows.
What do tenants pay?
Azibo lists bank rent as free for renters and a 2.99% convenience fee for card payments, so a $1,500 rent paid by card adds about $44.85. DoorKeeping handles card rent the same way in spirit: bank transfer is free, and a tenant who chooses a credit card pays a 3% card fee where state law allows it, which is $45 on $1,500. DoorKeeping accepts credit cards only for rent.
Rent goes straight to the owner's own bank account in both cases, and DoorKeeping marks it paid by matching the deposit to a tenant by memo (such as 12B SMITH) and an amount with its own cents.
Where each fits
Azibo describes a toolkit around rent collection, leases, banking and a Credit Boost option for renters. If those are your needs and you want the lowest listed software cost, it is worth a trial.
DoorKeeping is aimed at the work around the rent: separate books per property or LLC, Schedule E and 1099-NEC reports from the books, invoices read and coded by AI, late fees posted within state caps, renewal offers drafted for your approval, and a work order flow that sends jobs to your vendors by link. All of it is reached by asking your own Claude or ChatGPT, and anything involving money waits for your one-tap approval.
Every fee: Azibo and DoorKeeping
Everything Azibo publishes that an owner, a tenant or an applicant pays, next to DoorKeeping, read from Azibo's own pages (www.azibo.com/pricing). "Not published" means it is not on Azibo's own site.
| Fee | Azibo | DoorKeeping |
|---|---|---|
| Software price | Platform monthly fee listed as "None"; properties, units and portfolios listed as unlimited (paid by the owner) | $2 per unit per month, every feature included (paid by the owner) |
| Minimum or contract | None published | None. No minimum and no contract |
| Setup or onboarding | None published; optional Premium onboarding $300 for up to 100 units | None |
| Rent paid by bank (ACH) | Free for owners and for renters | Free. Tenants pay your own bank directly |
| Rent paid by card | 2.99% convenience fee, paid by the renter | 3% card fee, credit cards only; bank transfer stays free (paid by the tenant) |
| Tenant screening | Credit and background checks $39.99, charged to the applicant (paid by the applicant) | No markup: our exact cost. Paid by the applicant by default, or by you if you choose |
| E-signatures | State-specific lease agreement with e-sign $29.99 | Included, no per-document fee |
| Payouts to owners or vendors | Azibo Banking: wires $25; next-day ACH 1% with a $1 minimum (paid by the owner) | None. DoorKeeping never holds your money and sends a payment only when you approve it |
| Other published fees | Collaborate (team seats) $99 per seat per year; Credit Boost $4.99 a month (renter); security deposit collection free only for Azibo Banking customers | None |
Sources
- Azibo, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
- DoorKeeping, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
- DoorKeeping, Compare, read Oct 30, 2026
Questions
- Is Azibo free?
- Its pricing page lists the platform monthly fee as "None" and bank rent as free. Leases with e-sign ($29.99), credit and background checks ($39.99, charged to the applicant) and a 2.99% renter card fee are listed separately.
- How much does DoorKeeping cost compared with Azibo?
- DoorKeeping is $2 per unit per month with every feature included. Azibo lists no monthly platform fee, so its software cost is lower for owners who buy little per use.
- Do tenants pay a fee at DoorKeeping?
- Not for bank transfer. A tenant who pays by credit card pays a 3% card fee where state law allows it, and screening is passed through at cost.