Buildium pricing: plan prices plus the fees charged per use
Buildium lists three plans, Essential from $65, Growth from $202 and Premium from $420 a month, read on its pricing page on 2026-10-30. The plan price is only part of the bill: e-signatures, bank payments, screening, check printing and 1099 filing carry their own fees that depend on the plan. This guide puts the published numbers in one place and works through a small owner and a larger one.
What do Buildium's three plans cost?
Buildium's pricing page shows a starting monthly price for each plan. It does not state unit limits per plan, so the starting price may not cover your unit count; use Buildium's own quote for the exact figure.
| Plan | Starting price per month | Starting price per year |
|---|---|---|
| Essential | $65 | $65 x 12 = $780 |
| Growth | $202 | $202 x 12 = $2,424 |
| Premium | $420 | $420 x 12 = $5,040 |
The page gives no minimum contract. For accounts above 5,000 units, and for community associations, it asks you to call.
Is there an onboarding or setup fee?
The page says Growth and Premium customers "must use our customized Onboarding service" and does not publish that fee. It does not say whether Essential requires it. Separately, each business bank account you connect has a $99 setup fee: Essential charges it for every account, Growth includes 10 and Premium includes 100, then $99 each.
Owners who keep one LLC per property, each with its own bank account, reach those counts faster than owners with a single pooled account.
Which fees apply per use?
These come from the pricing page and Buildium's pricing options page.
| Item | Essential | Growth | Premium |
|---|---|---|---|
| E-signature | $5 per document | $1 per document | Unlimited, included |
| Incoming bank payment (EFT) | $2.35 | $1.35 | Free for 12 months, then $0.60 |
| Outgoing bank payment (EFT) | $0.99 | $0.99 | $0.99 |
| Credit card payment | 2.99% | 2.99% | 2.99% |
| Tenant screening | $17 ($35 if the applicant pays) | $17, enhanced $20 | $17, enhanced $20 |
A landlord can pass the incoming bank payment and card fees on to the tenant payment by payment. Other priced items include 1099 e-filing at $50 per batch plus $4.50 per form, check printing at a $30 setup plus $1.50 per check, and renters insurance from $12 a month.
What would a small owner and a larger owner pay?
Example a made-up owner with 5 units in one building and one bank account chooses Essential at the starting price. Software is $65 x 12 = $780, plus $99 for the bank account, plus five lease e-signatures at $5 = $25, plus tenants' bank payments at $2.35 each for 12 months (5 x 12 x $2.35 = $141) if the owner covers them. The year comes to $780 + $99 + $25 + $141 = $1,045.
Example a made-up owner with 20 units chooses Growth at the starting price. Software is $202 x 12 = $2,424, e-signatures for 20 leases at $1 = $20, and incoming bank payments at $1.35 for 12 months (20 x 12 x $1.35 = $324) if the owner covers them. The year comes to $2,424 + $20 + $324 = $2,768, plus the onboarding fee Buildium does not publish.
Both are lower bounds, because the starting price may rise with your unit count. DoorKeeping for the same 5 and 20 units is $120 and $480 a year.
How does DoorKeeping compare on fees?
DoorKeeping has one price, $2 per unit per month, and no per-document, per-payment or per-bank-account fee. E-signed leases are included. Rent and payments stay in your own bank accounts. DoorKeeping never holds your money and sends a payment only when you approve it.
Sources
- Buildium, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
- Buildium, Pricing options (per-use fees), read Oct 30, 2026
- DoorKeeping, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
Questions
- How much does Buildium cost per month?
- Buildium lists Essential from $65, Growth from $202 and Premium from $420 a month. The page does not state unit limits per plan.
- Does Buildium charge for e-signatures?
- Yes on two plans: $5 per document on Essential and $1 per document on Growth. Premium includes unlimited e-signatures.
- Does Buildium have a setup fee?
- Growth and Premium require an onboarding service whose fee is not published. Every plan also charges $99 per extra business bank account beyond the included count.
- Who pays Buildium's payment fees?
- The landlord by default, who can pass the incoming bank and card fees to the tenant per payment.