Skip to main content

AppFolio pricing: what each plan costs and what is not published

AppFolio publishes three plans, Core from $1.49, Plus from $3.20 and Max from $5.00 per unit per month, read on its pricing page on 2026-10-30. Core carries a 50-unit minimum and every plan carries a minimum spend that AppFolio does not state, so the page alone cannot tell you a final bill. This guide lays out what is published, what is not, and what a 5, 20 and 50 unit owner would pay at the listed rates.

What are AppFolio's plans and per-unit prices?

AppFolio's pricing page lists three plans, each "starting at" a per-unit monthly price. The word "starting" matters: it is a floor, and the footnotes explain that more conditions apply.

PlanStarting priceFootnote on the page
Core$1.49 per unit per monthMinimum spend and 50 unit minimum apply
Plus$3.20 per unit per monthMinimum spend and units apply
Max$5.00 per unit per monthMinimum spend and units apply

The page does not give the dollar amount of the minimum spend on any plan, and it does not give the unit minimum for Plus or Max. The only number you can plan around is Core's 50 units. For anything else the page says to contact AppFolio.

What are the minimums, and who do they rule out?

A 50-unit minimum on Core means an owner with 5 or 20 units is outside the cheapest plan as published. Whether Plus or Max accept fewer units is not stated, so a small owner should ask before building a budget around the starting prices.

The minimum spend works the other way around. If it is higher than units times the per-unit price, you pay the minimum. AppFolio does not publish it, so any yearly figure built from the starting price is a lower bound, not a quote.

Is there a setup or onboarding fee?

The pricing page states no onboarding or setup fee, and it states none being waived either. Its "Customize Your Plan" area mentions optional value-added services without prices. Treat setup cost as "not published" and ask for it in writing when you request a quote.

What do tenants and owners pay on top of the plan?

AppFolio's resident-portal help page says online payments carry a transaction fee that the tenant sees before paying, and that the card fee rises with the payment amount. It does not publish the amounts. It also lists cash payments at retail stores at $4.99 per payment, with a limit of $2,000 per payment ($1,500 at 7-Eleven), paid by the tenant.

  • Online bank payments by tenants: a fee exists, amount not published.
  • Card payments by tenants: a fee exists and grows with the payment, amount not published.
  • Retail cash payments: $4.99 per payment, paid by the tenant.
  • Owners paying contributions online: a transaction fee shown before paying.
  • Screening, e-signatures and bill payments: not published on these pages.

What would a 5, 20 and 50 unit owner pay?

Only the starting prices can be multiplied, so the table shows the lowest possible software bill and marks where a plan is not open at that size.

Made-up ownerAppFolio CoreAppFolio PlusAppFolio Max
5 unitsBelow the 50-unit minimumUnit minimum not publishedUnit minimum not published
20 unitsBelow the 50-unit minimumUnit minimum not publishedUnit minimum not published
50 units50 x $1.49 x 12 = $894 at least50 x $3.20 x 12 = $1,920 at least50 x $5.00 x 12 = $3,000 at least

Example a made-up owner with 50 units on Core pays 50 x $1.49 = $74.50 a month, so $74.50 x 12 = $894 a year at the starting price, before AppFolio's unstated minimum spend. The same 50 units on Max come to 50 x $5.00 = $250 a month, or $3,000 a year. For comparison, 50 units at DoorKeeping's $2 per unit per month is 50 x $2 x 12 = $1,200 a year.

How does DoorKeeping price the same job?

DoorKeeping charges $2 per unit per month with every feature included, no setup cost and no minimum, so 5 units cost $120 a year and 20 units cost $480. Tenants pay rent by bank transfer, free from DoorKeeping. Rent and payments stay in your own bank accounts. DoorKeeping never holds your money and sends a payment only when you approve it.

Sources

  1. AppFolio, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026
  2. AppFolio Help, FolioSpace online portal (resident payments), read Oct 30, 2026
  3. DoorKeeping, Pricing, read Oct 30, 2026

Questions

How much does AppFolio cost per unit?
AppFolio lists Core from $1.49, Plus from $3.20 and Max from $5.00 per unit per month. Each is a starting price with a minimum spend, and Core also has a 50-unit minimum.
Does AppFolio publish its minimum spend?
No. The pricing page says a minimum spend applies to all three plans and does not give the amount. Ask AppFolio for it in writing.
Does AppFolio charge a setup fee?
The pricing page states none and does not say there is none. Ask before you sign.
Can a 10-unit owner use AppFolio Core?
Not as published: Core lists a 50-unit minimum. AppFolio does not publish the unit minimum for Plus or Max.